is equipping a creature targeting?

Asked by rhenmark 13 years ago

is it targeting or not?

bcurran says... Accepted answer #1

Yes.

702.6. Equip

702.6a Equip is an activated ability of Equipment cards. "Equip [cost]" means "[Cost]: Attach this permanent to target creature you control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery."

February 16, 2012 1:35 a.m.

shift says... #2

2 quick things one bcurran I loved a comment you made while back bout a combo ShukoMTG Card: Shuko, Cephalid IllusionistMTG Card: Cephalid Illusionist and others loved truly and plan to build it soon but I have a side question if u fail an equip ie, Doom BladeMTG Card: Doom Blade kills your target does it go unequiped out stay on the first creature? Example being if I re-equip illusionist and they stop it without killing it does go unequiped to anything?

February 16, 2012 1:45 a.m.

bcurran says... #3

That combo actually works better with Nomads en-KorMTG Card: Nomads en-Kor (because the ability can be played at instant speed).

Regarding your question, I would think that the equipment stays attached, due to this ruling:

301.5b [....] If an effect attempts to attach an Equipment to an object that cant be equipped by it, the Equipment doesn't move.

February 16, 2012 1:50 a.m.

shift says... #4

R u talkin bout the mill your self til u can Dread ReturnMTG Card: Dread Return a Sutured GhoulMTG Card: Sutured Ghoul and throw 2-3 Phyrexian DreadnoughtMTG Card: Phyrexian Dreadnought with a Dragon BreathMTG Card: Dragon Breath to give out haste?

February 16, 2012 1:56 a.m.

bcurran says... #5

Yes. Also the best finisher now is to have The MimeoplasmMTG Card: The Mimeoplasm copy TriskelionMTG Card: Triskelion and gain additional +1/+1 counters from Lord of ExtinctionMTG Card: Lord of Extinction.

February 16, 2012 1:59 a.m.

shift says... #6

So dread mimieoplasm copy trisk and take p/t of lord o ex. Right thats fkin brilliant!

February 16, 2012 2:04 a.m.

shift says... #7

How does Nomads en-KorMTG Card: Nomads en-Kor help that?

February 16, 2012 2:19 a.m.

rhenmark says... #8

can i also re-equip an equipment on the equipped creature?

February 16, 2012 2:23 a.m.

shift says... #9

Yes that is legal thats the question that spurred the combo with Cephalid IllusionistMTG Card: Cephalid Illusionist + ShukoMTG Card: Shuko

February 16, 2012 2:27 a.m.

OmegaSerris says... #10

This is exactly why equipment (like Sword of War and PeaceMTG Card: Sword of War and Peace) CANNOT be used in illusion decks. They are effectively dead cards unless you want to equip them to your Lord of the UnrealMTG Card: Lord of the Unreal.

February 16, 2012 6:09 a.m.

This discussion has been closed