How soon do static effects become relevant?

Asked by Yesterday 6 years ago

Hey there.

Quick question. If a creature were to have the static ability "Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, you draw a card", would you draw a card upon that creature entering the battlefield, or would that static ability only apply after the creature has already entered the battlefield?

Madcookie says... #1

It is not a static effect but a triggered effect. The process is as follows 1. A creature enters the battlefield. 2. Triggered abilities that activate upon creature entering (including its own if any) trigger and go on the stack in order active player (whos turn it is) - non-active player. Players pass priority, if all pass the triggers resolve one by one and when the one mentioned resolves you draw the card.

September 17, 2018 2:40 p.m.

Kogarashi says... Accepted answer #2

It's worth noting that there aren't currently creature cards with the stated ability (or similar) on them, possibly due to the potential confusion in whether or not that particular creature would also count for the "whenever a creature enters the battlefield" trigger. The closest I could find was Akoum Battlesinger, which has the ability phrased with "Whenever Akoum Battlesinger or another Ally enters" in order to clear up the confusion.

In your hypothetical case, though, the creature would enter the battlefield, and then any relevant "enters the battlefield" triggers would trigger unless something else prevents it (such as an effect that causes creatures to lose all abilities). This would include the creature with your hypothetical ability itself, given the wording, and you would draw the card. There is no state where the creature has triggered the ability but is still "entering" instead of "has entered." It enters and the ability triggers, with the creature actually on the battlefield.

As for static vs. triggered (vs. activated, while we're at it).... Activated abilities always are phrased "(Cost): (Effect)." Triggered abilities always begin with "When," "Whenever," or "At." All other abilities are static.

Llanowar Elves has an activated ability. is the cost, and the effect is adding to your available mana. You pay the cost, and then you get the effect.

Abzan Beastmaster and Abzan Ascendancy have triggered abilities with each of the starting words I mentioned. These all trigger when the trigger condition is met (the beginning of your upkeep, when the card enters the battlefield, and when a nontoken creature you control dies).

Anything else is a static ability (unless it's a spell). It can be as simple as a keyword like haste or flying, or something wordier like Blood Moon. These take effect as soon as the card enters the appropriate zone, and only stop working when that card leaves the zone or when the card says it ends.

September 17, 2018 3:26 p.m.

Neotrup says... #3

For an example of a static ability, lets say Darkest Hour and Crovax, Ascendant Hero enter the battlefield at the same time, possibly as the result of a Genesis Wave. Crovax's ability immediately starts apply to himself (as he isn't white), making him a 3/3. There is no period of time in which he's a 4/4, so Kavu Lair would not trigger off him entering.

September 17, 2018 9:40 p.m.

LGFlatron says... #4

As Madcookie pointed out, it is actually a triggered ability.

The card Garruk's Packleader has a very similar ability with one exception:

  • Whenever another creature with power 3 or greater enters the battlefield under your control, you may draw a card.

If it weren’t for the ’another’ in the description, it would have triggered on itself.

Another way to look at it is a card like Gray Merchant of Asphodel, which has:

  • When Gray Merchant of Asphodel enters the battlefield...

...which would make Gray Merchant of Asphodel meet the requirements to trigger the ability when it ETB (since it is, in fact, Gray Merchant of Asphodel) and the ability would trigger.

In your hypothetical case, a creature with:

  • Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, you draw a card.

...is looking for a creature entering the battlefield, in which case the creature itself meets those requirements.

So yes, it should trigger on entering the battlefield itself.

September 18, 2018 1:53 a.m.

LGFlatron says... #5

To add to the previous point, the comprehensive rules also cover this:

  • 603.6a Enters-the-battlefield abilities trigger when a permanent enters the battlefield. These are written, “When [this object] enters the battlefield, . . . “ or “Whenever a [type] enters the battlefield, . . .” Each time an event puts one or more permanents onto the battlefield, all permanents on the battlefield (including the newcomers) are checked for any enters-the-battlefield triggers that match the event.

Just incase it’s disputed when playing with others.

September 18, 2018 10:38 p.m.

DragonKing90 says... #6

if you've found a satisfactory answer, please select it so this can be moved to the "answered" portion of the Q&A.

September 22, 2018 1:28 p.m.

Please login to comment