Can Body Snatcher be sacrafice before he is exiled?

Asked by DocProc95 2 years ago

I'm creating a long chain Protean Hulk Flash EDH combo (where I won't use any dead draw cards) and the stack is still rocket surgery to me.

Suns_Champion says... Accepted answer #1

Yes! When Body Snatcher enters the battlefield, it's first triggered ability("When Body Snatcher enters the battlefield...") goes on the stack. You can then respond to that trigger by sacking it with Ashnod's Altar for example. Once you've sacked the Snacher, Body Snatcher's second triggered ability("When Body Snatcher is put into a graveyard from play") goes on the stack on top of the first trigger. Since the stack resolves top to bottom, the second ability resolves first, getting a creature back, then the first ability resolves, but does nothing because Snatcher isn't on the field anymore.

April 7, 2018 9:45 p.m. Edited.

DocProc95 says... #2

Awesome! Like the whole Fiend Hunter loop hole... so, what if both Body Snatcher and Phantasmal Image ETB at the same time... can Body Snatcher be sacrificed to recur Body Double for Phantasmal Image to mimic Body Double... or does Phantasmal Image ETB as Body Snatcher? Thanks for the timely response by the way!

April 7, 2018 9:58 p.m.

Neotrup says... #3

Phantasmal Image enters as a creature already on the battlefield. It cannot be Body Snatcher as it's not on the battlefield yet, nor any other creature entering at the same time as it. It certainly can't be something you're getting back as the result of a triggered ability, as the ability has neither the time to trigger nor resolve.

April 8, 2018 3:52 a.m.

DocProc95 says... #4

Darn. Thanks. I'm just looking to build a new sultai hulk combo without the standard Mike and ballista but I'm sure it's already been well thought out.

April 8, 2018 12:43 p.m.

Neotrup says... #5

Also remember that Mikaeus, the Unhallowed + Walking Ballista requires a sacrifice outlet, something people often forget.

April 8, 2018 1:03 p.m.

Please login to comment