Bear Cub

Bear Cub

Creature — Bear

Browse Alters

Combos Browse all


Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pauper Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Unformat Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Bear Cub Discussion

Raknulfr on Fun Commander

2 months ago

Ayula, Queen Among Bears is the only commander I play. I tried a lot but for me nothing is more fun than just having a blast with some bears. Build a cuddly army of fluffy doom and just have fun XD. Playing bears like River Bear and Pale Bears will even be quite the surprise for all the blue players at the table. Especially if they already starting to ignore you because they think you aren´t a threat. Or just play Bear Cub , buff him up a little and let the little guy fight every big scary thing out of the way due to Ayula's trigger. Thanks to Strixhaven, I recently had a new addition to the deck in form of Ruxa, Patient Professor which makes token generators like Words of Wilding or Bearscape even better.

Tylord2894 on Myriad and Added Creature Abilities

11 months ago

Unlife is mostly correct here, but there are some very important things that aren't quite correct.

First, to address the question at hand, any copy or Clone of a permanent will not have the abilities granted to that permanent by the majority of effects. Such effects include that of Equipment like Grafted Exoskeleton, Auras like Phyresis, and effects grant by static abilities like that of Triumph of the Hordes (keeping with the Infect theme, though there are plenty of other examples).

Now, this does not mean that copies/ clones ONLY copy what's printed on a card. Rather, they copy a permanent's copiable values. The copiable values of an object are determined in layer 1. Most of the time, this is what's "printed on the card", but there are several common effects that change an object's copiable values. Among the most common are Mutate, Clone effects, and (technically) Transform/Morph/Manifest type effects.

As a quick example, let's say my Clone copies my Bear Cub while I also control a Grizzly Bears. I then make tokens of this "Clone" with Blade of Selves. I can not have these token enter as copies of Grizzly Bears even though Clone says so. Rather, after I cloned the Cub, its copiable values became those of Bear Cub.

I know this is a lot, but I hope this helps!!

Tylord2894 on If I chose the creature …

1 year ago

ThatGuy_OhWhatsHisName TL;DR, the creature that you make into a copy of Arcane Adaptation will be a 3/3 blue enchantment creature, Shapeshifter with 3 CMC (provided you are using Starfield of Nyx). The answer is very different if you use something like Dance of the Mance. The copy of the animated Adaptation does not have the ability to grant an additional creature type like the original.

When you turn something into a copy of something else, you are replacing the copiable values of the original thing with those of the second thing. In this case, your, say, Bear Cub will become an Adaption. These values are (mostly) what's printed on the card, cost, abilities, P/T, etc. At this point, the Cub is an exact copy of Adaptation, ie just an enchantment. The next thing that we are concerned with is changes to types. Normally, these changes are considered in timestamp (chronological) order. That is not the case here as there is a dependency. So, let's consider what effects are trying to affect your copy of Adaption (in timestamp order).

  1. Arcane Adaptation is trying to give all creatures the Shapeshifter creature type.
  2. Starfield of Nyx is trying to turn all non-Aura enchantments into creatures.

I've quoted the rule for determining what makes a dependency below. In this case, we are only concerned with the second condition.

Here, Adaptation has a dependency on Starfield, so we will apply Starfield's effect first. This will make the original and copy of Adaptation into a 3/3 enchantment creature. Then, the Adaptation effect is applied, giving both Adaptations the Shapeshift creature type.

The key difference between using Dance of the Mance and Starfield of Nyx is that Dance only affects the enchantments that it brings back. Using Dance here would mean that the copy of Adaptation wouldn't become a creature.

I know that's a lot of information, and I skipped over talking about "layers" directly, but I hope this helps!!

613.8. Within a layer or sublayer, determining which order effects are applied in is sometimes done using a dependency system. If a dependency exists, it will override the timestamp system.

613.8a An effect is said to “depend on” another if (a) it’s applied in the same layer (and, if applicable, sublayer) as the other effect; (b) applying the other would change the text or the existence of the first effect, what it applies to, or what it does to any of the things it applies to; and (c) neither effect is from a characteristic-defining ability or both effects are from characteristic-defining abilities. Otherwise, the effect is considered to be independent of the other effect.

Tylord2894 on Does shielding plax grant the …

1 year ago

To FSims81's point, the "protection" that Shielding Plax gives isn't Hexproof for a couple of reasons. First and foremost, Plax doesn't say and it hasn't been errata-ed to say "Hexproof". But why?

A creature with Hexproof can't be the target of spells and abilities controlled by the opponents of that creature's controller. In other words, my Slippery Bogle can't be the target of your spells/abilities. However, Plax says that the enchanted creature can't be the target of spells/abilities that your opponents control. So, a creature enchanted with Plax can't be the target of spells/abilities controlled by the opponents of Plax's controller. In other words, if you enchant my Bear Cub with Shielding Plax , I can't target it with Giant Growth , but you can still Murder it.

TL;DR, Plax doesn't give Hexproof because you can still target the enchanted creature even if you don't control that creature.

Hope this helps!!

Rhadamanthus on Spark Double and Helm of …

2 years ago

Use double-square brackets around a card's name to create a pop-up. It's the best way to make sure everyone understands what's going on in your question: Spark Double , Helm of the Host

It copies the same card as the original. When you make a copy of something, you also take into account whether that thing is a copy of something else. For example: if Spark Double is currently a copy of Bear Cub then any copies of that creature will also be a Bear Cub (with no +1/+1 counters), if Quicksilver Gargantuan is a copy of Glory Seeker then any copies of that creature will also be a 7/7 Glory Seeker, etc.

Gidgetimer on Does Phyrexian Splicer require a …

2 years ago

You have to have valid targets for each part of a spell or ability to cast/activate it. Just like you MUST have six valid targets in order to cast Hex , you must have two targets for Phyrexian Splicer and the first target must have the ability you want to grant the second.

This gatherer ruling that looks like it might support your argument but is simply trying to clarify that abilities only fizzle if all targets are illegal and will do as much as they can otherwise.

"If the target which is having the ability removed does not have that ability during the resolution of this effect, then this effect still grants the chosen ability. The reason is that the second target is still legal even if the first one is not."

You can't give your Bear Cub flying without a flier to to target. However; your opponent casting Canopy Claws on the flier in response to the Phyrexian Splicer activation will not stop the Bear Cub from gaining flying.

Rhadamanthus on Do Sakashima tokens created by …

2 years ago

The answer is different depending on whether the Sakashima in your example is currently copying something else. If it isn't copying anything then the answer also depends on whether you choose to copy something or not.

First example - Sakashima is copying something: Let's say Sakashima the Impostor is pretending to be a Bear Cub , meaning it's a Legendary Creature - Bear named "Sakashima the Impostor" with no other abilities. Helm of the Host will create a copy of that creature and remove the Legendary supertype, resulting in a Creature - Bear named "Sakashima the Impostor" with no other abilities. The legend rule won't apply because it's not legendary.

Second example part 1 - Sakashima is not copying anything and you choose not to copy anything with the token: Sakashima is currently a Legendary Creature - Human Rogue named "Sakashima the Impostor". Helm of the Host will make a copy and remove the Legendary supertype. If you choose not to copy anything as the token enters the battlefield then it results in a Creature - Human Rogue named "Sakashima the Impostor". The legend rule won't apply because it's not legendary.

Second example part 2 - Sakashima is not copying anything and you do choose to copy something with the token: Sakashima is currently a Legendary Creature - Human Rogue named "Sakashima the Impostor". Helm of the Host will make a copy and remove the Legendary supertype. If you choose to copy Bear Cub with the token as it enters the battlefield then the token's copy effect will add the Legendary supertype (Sakashima's current Oracle text has been clarified a bit to say "it's legendary in addition to its other types"). It results in a Legendary Creature - Bear named "Sakashima the Impostor". The legend rule will apply and you need to choose one Sakashima to keep and get rid of the other one.

Neotrup on Commander Damage

3 years ago

So your commander is Yahenni, Undying Partisan: Legendary Creature Land - Swamp. Yup, sounds like your commander so it deals commander damage. Commander damage is tracked as combat damage dealt by the card that started in your command zone. If, for example, your commander was The Mimeoplasm and it entered the battlefield as a Bear Cub with 5 +1/+1 counters on it, it would be able to deal 7 commander damage in an attack, despite having a completely different name and not even being legendary. In your example you commander even retained it's name and legendary status.

Load more