When a creature with persist is enchanted with Journey to Nowhere does it still come back with a -1/-1 counter?

Asked by HoboTSH 6 months ago

Building a Reaper King Aristocrats Commander deck that abuses persist and effects such as Juniper Order Ranger. It doesn't matter to me either way as I will still be playing the card; I am just curious as there will undoubtedly be a time this interaction comes up in play

cdkime says... #1

It does not come back with a -1/-1 counter. The rule for persist is as follows:

Rule 702.78a Persist is a triggered ability. Persist means When this permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, if it had no -1/-1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under its owners control with a -1/-1 counter on it.

Journey to Nowhere exiles the creature--it does not put the creature into your graveyard. Persist only triggers if the Persist creature goes directly from the battlefield to your graveyard (i.e. is destroyed).

February 12, 2018 11:39 a.m.

HoboTSH says... #2

oops I did not mean for that to be journey of nowhere lol I meant Journey to Eternity  Flip

February 12, 2018 11:42 a.m.

cdkime says... Accepted answer #3

Ah! That makes much more sense!

When your creature dies, both persist and Journey to Eternity will trigger simultaneously. You can choose which order they go on the stack. Have Journey to Eternity resolve first. It will return the creature to the battlefield without any -1/-1 counters.

After, persist will resolve. Since the creature is no longer in the graveyard, it is not a legal target for Persist. Since there is no longer a legal target for persist, that ability will fizzle. Your creature will not receive a -1/-1 counter.

February 12, 2018 12:08 p.m.

HoboTSH says... #4

Thanks!

February 12, 2018 12:34 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #5

Note that persist doesn't target anything. Rather, the ability resolves and attempts to find the creature card in your graveyard, but fails to find it and therefore does nothing.

Notably, Ground Seal and Silent Gravestone won't stop persist.

February 12, 2018 1:28 p.m.

HoboTSH says... #6

Interesting thanks for the info Epochalyptik!

February 13, 2018 10:53 a.m.

Please login to comment