Thran Lens interactions

Asked by UniqueUserID 4 years ago

1) When Thran Lens is on the field and a creature spell enters play, when are they considered colorless? What happens with cards like Shadow Alley Denizen ?

2) Further more what about other spells? They still retain colors since they are not permanent?

3) Also am I right in thinking that all cards that say words such as "shares a color with the most common color among all permanents or a color tied for most common." have absolutely no effect? eg- Barrin's Unmaking ,

4) Cards with effects like Goham Djinn will not trigger, since there is no black cards anymore?

5) What the hell happens when I play Call to Arms and choose red?

6) How does this work with creatures with a Convoke keyword? eg- Angel of Salvation

Thanks for reading!

Drilnoth says... Accepted answer #1

1) It enters the battlefield colorless. No trigger from Shadow Alley Denizen.

2) Thran Lens only affects permanents. Spells aren't permanents, so it doesn't make them colorless.

3) Colorless permanents share a color with no other permanents (not even other colorless permanents). Barrin's Unmaking can't target a colorless permanent, even if all permanents are colorless.

4) Correct, though note that the ability you are referring to is a static ability, not a triggered ability.

5) Good question; I'll see if I can look something up a bit later. Is this really a likely situation though?

6) The creatures tapped to pay for convoke could only pay for the colorless component of the spell's cost. The creatures are colorless.

January 23, 2015 9:29 p.m.

UniqueUserID says... #2

Thanks,

as for number 5... you never know! Just wanna know every detail of this card.

BONUS QESTION IF YOU DON'T MIND

7) I summon a blue creature and Thran Lens is on the field. My opponent uses Red Elemental Blast, does it get countered since to be colourless it needs to 'hit' the field?

January 23, 2015 9:34 p.m.

hyperlocke says... #3

1) A permanent is a card on the battlefield. As soon as a card is moved from the stack to the battlefield, it will be colorless, it won't be colored at any time in the process. All permanents will enter colorless. Shadow Alley Denizen will not trigger.

2) Yes. Lightning Bolt will still be red. Even cards with permanent types will be colored on the stack, because they aren't permanents, yet.

3) Yes, they will have no effect. "Colorless" is not a color.

4) Correct. Note, that the Djinn's second ability is not triggered, but static.

5) Call to Arms cares about the color of non-token permanents target player controls (new Oracle rules). If all permanents are colorless, the chosen player won't control the most permanents of the chosen color. Call to Arms will be sacrificed. Also, even if it would stay on the field, all creatures are colorless, there are no white creatures.

6) You can tap colorless creatures for the colorless parts of Convoke spells. You won't be able to pay by tapping Soul Warden, because it isn't white anymore.

January 23, 2015 9:35 p.m.

Drilnoth says... #4

5) From the rulings on Call to Arms:

10/1/2009 : The game continually counts the number of nontoken permanents of each color the chosen player controls. Multicolored ones are counted for each of their colors; colorless ones are ignored.

The enchantment gets sacrificed, because each color is tied for most common color.

January 23, 2015 9:35 p.m.

Drilnoth says... #5

7) Yes, it can be countered, because Thran Lens only affects permanents. A spell, even a creature spell, is not a permanent until it resolves.

January 23, 2015 9:35 p.m.

hyperlocke says... #6

7) Yes. Your blue creature card will be blue on the stack. Red Elemental Blast can counter it. As soon as that creature card hits the field (=is a creature permanent), it will be colorless. Red Elemental Blast can't target it.

January 23, 2015 9:37 p.m.

UniqueUserID says... #7

LAST QUESTION!

8) In regard to question 7, Paradise Plume will heal me if I play creatures and spells of my chosen color, and after my permanents will also be colorless if Thran Lens is on the field?

Also is it possible to mark more than one answer as correct?

January 23, 2015 9:45 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #8

Correct.

Also, no. Only one answer may be marked correct. Choose the answer that best addresses the question asked in the original post.

January 23, 2015 11 p.m.

UniqueUserID says... #9

Thank you both.

Another question just occurred to me.

What happens with Heroic Defiance and Thran Lens? Isn't it just always a +3/+3? Since you can't be tied equal to a color that is colorless?

January 24, 2015 6:55 a.m.

hyperlocke says... #10

Correct.

January 24, 2015 7:01 a.m.

This discussion has been closed