Wastes still a thing?

Asked by lukeabshier 7 years ago

Do you still have to have waste cards to cast spells like Thought-Knot Seer?

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

You still have to use a source of colorless mana () to pay a colorless cost (also ) like that found in the casting cost of Thought-Knot Seer). This can be produced by the basic land Wastes, or by many nonbasic lands such as Aether Hub, Geier Reach Sanitarium, or Shefet Dunes.

July 17, 2017 1:28 a.m.

BlueScope says... #2

While Neotrup is correct in that you need the specific mana to cast those, they only linked cards that already have that symbol printed - keep in mind that all cards producing colorless mana are sufficient to pay those costs. Those cards have since been errata'd to reflect this change.

To name a few additional examples:

  • previous printings of Sol Ring have had in their text, while newer printings have the updated
  • City of Traitors produces the same mana, however never got a recent printing and is therefore still unaltered. The Gatherer image will show the Tempest Remastered "printing", which still has on it, while the oracle text clarifies it's actually
  • to also mention a card producing only a single mana, have Mind Stone

Wastes are therefore not any more or less needed than before, because although there are much more efficient colorless mana sources, they have specific qualities - for example, they are a basic land, which means they're the only colorless source you can fetch with an Evolving Wilds. Whether any specific deck needs them therefore depends on the exact circumstances.

July 17, 2017 3:26 a.m.

Neotrup says... #3

True. I was trying to stick to standard, but probably should have pulled Ally Encampment as an example.

July 17, 2017 3:36 a.m.

Please login to comment