Stealing other peoples creatures and using Myrkul, Lord of Bones ability?

Asked by bhst5019 1 year ago

For all intense and purposes we will use Animate Dead, Myrkul, Lord of Bones and a sacrifice engine Altar of Dementia.

Use Animate Dead to take control of Shivan Dragon from an opponent's graveyard. Sacrifice to Altar of Dementia. My question comes in can I use Myrkul, Lord of Bones ability to exile it and make an enchantment copy?

Rhadamanthus says... #1

Yes. Myrkul's ability doesn't specifically require you to exile the card from your own graveyard, so that means it can be exiled from whatever graveyard it went to and the ability will still work normally.

November 29, 2022 10:44 a.m.

bhst5019 says... #2

Thanks again Rhadamanthus. Seems like this is going to be a fun deck. :)

November 29, 2022 11:18 a.m.

bhst5019 says... #3

What about someone's commander? What would happen in that case?

November 29, 2022 11:23 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #4

Under the current rules (it used to work differently), the other person's commander will go to the graveyard for a moment before they decide whether to leave it there or move it to the command zone. If they leave it there then you can exile it with Myrkul's ability. If they move it to the command zone then Myrkul's ability will lose track of it and you won't be able to exile it.

November 29, 2022 2:44 p.m.

bhst5019 says... #5

Alright, last question it deals with Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre and Myrkul. Assuming Ulamog makes it to the graveyard. I can go ahead an exile it correct and make an enchantment copy?

November 30, 2022 9:12 a.m.

TheOfficialCreator says... Accepted answer #6

Yes. Since Ulamog and Myrkul's abilities trigger at the same time, you can choose which one goes on the stack first. If you chose Myrkul's ability to go on the stack first, then Ulamog would be exiled and then an enchantment copy would be made; Ulamog's ability would then resolve and fail to find Ulamog in your graveyard, so it would fizzle.

Alternatively, you could shuffle Ulamog into your library first, and then Myrkul's ability would fail to resolve, as per the Gatherer rulings on Myrkul, Lord of Bones: "The last ability creates a copy of the card as it last existed in the graveyard, not of the creature as it last existed on the battlefield."

November 30, 2022 9:57 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #7

It depends on who owns Ulamog and whose turn it is. This is because Ulamog's "into a graveyard from anywhere" trigger is NOT a "leaves the battlefield" trigger and doesn't look back in time for details about the previous game state. Rather, it triggers from the graveyard and uses the current game state to determine who controls the trigger.

If you both own and control Ulamog then you will control both of the triggers that are trying to go onto the stack at the same time. This means you get to choose the order they go onto the stack, so you can order them with Myrkul's trigger on top to have it resolve first.

If someone else owns Ulamog then it will go to their graveyard and the ability will trigger from their graveyard. Because of how "into the graveyard from anywhere" triggers are handled, that player will control the trigger as it goes onto the stack. If triggers from multiple players are trying to go onto the stack at the same time then the active player (the one whose turn it is) puts theirs on first, then the next player in turn order, and so on around the table. That will determine whether Ulamog's or Myrkul's trigger ends up on top of the stack, and you will get different results depending on whose turn it is when Ulamog dies.

November 30, 2022 10:13 a.m.

bhst5019 says... #8

Alright thanks guys. I think I understand Myrkul a bit better. This deck is something else. It is going to be a fun ride. :) Do not know how fast it will be, but player better kill me. If not, a lot of their stuff is going to be exiled.

November 30, 2022 11:27 a.m.

bhst5019 says... #9

Came across another, Tree of Perdition if this one becomes an enchantment only, can you use its ability?

November 30, 2022 1:25 p.m.

bhst5019 says... #10

NM found the answer

November 30, 2022 1:35 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #11

Small correction to the marked answer...

The shuffle ability on the Eldrazi Titans does not target and will not fizzle. If Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre, Kozilek, Butcher of Truth, or Emrakul, the Aeons Torn are ever put into the graveyard, the graveyard is shuffled into the library. If something leaves the graveyard between the trigger and resolution of the ability those cards obviously will not be among the cards shuffled into the library. If the entire graveyard leaves the graveyard before the ability resolves, the library will still be shuffled.

November 30, 2022 6:54 p.m.

Please login to comment