Do Emblems Stack?

Asked by Firepaw3 14 years ago

If I was to activate vensers "whenever you play a spell, exile target permanent" twice would I exile two things every time I played a spell?

π_is_the_word says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, I have had this happen to me at a big tournament. The guy I was playing against did it twice and I had a Judge watching us because the game took so long. Judge never called it an illegal move. And, if you think about it they should, unless the effect says otherwise, they should stack.

That game took 30 minutes and at the end of the game, he had exiled 3 of my Jace, the Mind Sculptor , 1 Frost Titan , 2 Grave Titan , 3 Creeping Tar Pit , so on and so on.

For reference: Venser, the Sojourner .

April 18, 2011 3:12 p.m.

Qomputer says... #2

This is what the oracle has to say about it:

If you control more than one such emblem, each one's ability will trigger separately whenever you cast a spell.

April 18, 2011 4:06 p.m.

π_is_the_word says... #3

Yeah, I should have won that game, but I let him resolve a Pacifism on my Trinket Mage which gave him enough time to get Venser, the Sojourner 's ultimate off for the first time. Then, I killed that Venser and 2 or 3 turns later he played another 1. It then took him 20 minutes to finish me off.

I had counterspells in hand and forgot to use them. 1 small mistake lost me the game.

April 18, 2011 4:22 p.m.

MagnorCriol says... #4

Note that not all emblems matter when they stack. Koth of the Hammer 's emblem, for instance, simply gives all your mountains two instances of "T: Deal 1 damage to target creature or player." It won't make your mountains tap for two damage. And Elspeth, Knight-Errant 's emblem won't make your creatures double-indestructible. =p

April 18, 2011 4:32 p.m.

This discussion has been closed