can i galvanic blast a planeswalker?

Asked by permhole96 13 years ago

can i galvanic blast a planeswalker?

Cableguy says... #1

you have to target a player and tell them you are redirecting to a planes walker.

February 22, 2012 12:52 p.m.

Cableguy says... #2

you have to target a player and tell them you are redirecting to a planes walker.

February 22, 2012 12:52 p.m.

Sharky_ says... #3

Yes. Galvanic BlastMTG Card: Galvanic Blast targets a creature or player, and planeswalkers are classified as players.

February 22, 2012 12:52 p.m.

OmegaSerris says... #4

When you control the source of damage (Galvanic BlastMTG Card: Galvanic Blast, SlagstormMTG Card: Slagstorm, etc) you must target or otherwise deal damage to the player controlling the planeswalkers. Once you successfully deal damage to them, you may redirect it to the planeswalker instead of the player losing life.

This is different than attacking with creatures, where you choose when you declare attackers which creatures are attacking the player and which are attacking their planeswalker(s).

February 22, 2012 12:53 p.m.

Cableguy says... #5

Wow...didnt mean to answer twice.

So this would NOT work if you opponent had a Witchbane OrbMTG Card: Witchbane Orb or Leyline of SanctityMTG Card: Leyline of Sanctity on they're side of the field.

February 22, 2012 12:53 p.m.

Cableguy says... #6

Also, Sharky. Planeswalkers are NOT considered players they are just a permanent.

February 22, 2012 12:54 p.m.

Cableguy says... #7

Also, Sharky. Planeswalkers are NOT considered players they are just a permanent.

February 22, 2012 12:54 p.m.

OmegaSerris says... #8

@Sharky_

Planeswalkers are Planeswalker Permanents just like creatures on the battlefield are Creature Permanents. You cannot target a Planeswalker with anything (like Time WarpMTG Card: Time Warp, for example) unless it can target a permanent (Beast WithinMTG Card: Beast Within).

Spells dealing damage must deal it to the controller, than be redirected. They don't HAVE to target (such as SlagstormMTG Card: Slagstorm, EarthquakeMTG Card: Earthquake, etc) but they have to otherwise be able to deal damage to the Planeswalker's controller.

February 22, 2012 1 p.m.

permhole96 says... #9

ok, so if im targeting a player with like Chandra Firebrand s ability, that is legal?, i can target a planeswalker if it goes succefully through to a player?

February 22, 2012 1:01 p.m.

Cableguy says... #10

yes

February 22, 2012 1:02 p.m.

OmegaSerris says... #11

Chandra, the FirebrandMTG Card: Chandra, the Firebrand.

Yes, both her +1 and -6 abilities can hit planeswalkers as it is able to hit players. You declare the controller the target and then when the ability resolves, redirect it to their planeswalker.

Note: If they have multiple planeswalkers, you may only redirect damage once per source. So if they have a Garruk, the Veil-CursedMTG Card: Garruk, the Veil-Cursed with 4 counters and a Liliana of the VeilMTG Card: Liliana of the Veil with 2 counters, Chandra's -6 ability can only 'kill' one of them. You can only target the player once with her ability and you can't pick and choose the amount of damage being redirected from a single source. It is either all or nothing.

February 22, 2012 1:07 p.m.

permhole96 says... #12

but it says up to 6 target creatures or players... doesnt that mean i can target both garruk and liliana as part of my 6?

February 22, 2012 1:09 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #13

No, the planeswalkers are never targets of the damage-dealing effect - only the player is (as has been said earlier in this discussion, planeswalkers are not players). Because you can only target the player once with the ability, there's only an opportunity to redirect the damage to one of his planeswalkers.

February 22, 2012 1:12 p.m.

OmegaSerris says... Accepted answer #14

You are not targeting the planeswalkers, remember? You must target the controlling player. When an ability says "up to X targets" it means "up to X different targets". You can't choose the player 6 times to deal 36 damage to them. You also can't choose the player twice and deal 6 damage to both planeswalkers.

After you choose the player as one of the targets, you cannot divide up the damage either. All of it goes to the player or to a single planeswalker. If you had multiple sources, for example Pestilence DemonMTG Card: Pestilence Demon, dealing 1 damage 6 times it would be another story. You can pick where each damage goes in that case.

Here are all the rules on Planeswalkers.

February 22, 2012 1:18 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #15

Either all or none of the damage is redirected. You can't do a partial redirection.

306.7. If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source controlled by an opponent, that opponent may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker the first player controls instead. This is a redirection effect (see rule 614.9) and is subject to the normal rules for ordering replacement effects (see rule 616). The opponent chooses whether to redirect the damage as the redirection effect is applied.

February 22, 2012 2:11 p.m.

This discussion has been closed