Can a Evolving Wilds/Fabled passage bring out a Triome with basic land types?

Asked by zacktheprogamer 2 months ago

So I have been playing for a while and always thought that if the land didn't say basic land it couldn't be fetched by Evolving Wilds/Fabled Passage. Now I'm being told I have played wrong the whole time and that I'm an outlier who can't understand the rules correctly.

legendofa says... Accepted answer #1

Evolving Wilds and Fabled Passage can only find lands that have the word Basic in the type line. This is exclusively the cards Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, Forest, and Wastes. If a land has one or more of those land types in its type line, but not the word Basic, it's not a basic land and can't be found by Evolving Wilds or Fabled Passage.

September 21, 2023 2:40 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

The other players might be getting confused by a couple of recent cards that can find any land with a basic land type: Slimefoot's Survey and Sprouting Goblin are the basic examples. However, this is not the same kind of effect as Evolving Wilds and Fabled Passage. Those effects specifically get just basic lands. If a land isn't actually "Basic" on the type line then they won't work.

September 25, 2023 8:16 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

zacktheprogamer: Answers to your question have been up for a while. Since there don't seem to be any more follow-ups or corrections that need to be made, I marked one of them as the "Accepted answer" so this topic can move out of the list of unanswered questions. In the future you can take care of this yourself using the "Mark as Answer" button on the response that you feel is the best answer to your question.

September 29, 2023 9:21 a.m.

Please login to comment