Myojin of Grim Betrayal
Start Commander Deck

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Archenemy Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Planechase Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Myojin of Grim Betrayal

Legendary Creature — Spirit

This enters the battlefield with an indestructible counter on this creature if you cast this from your hand.

Remove an indestructible counter from this: Put all creatures from all graveyards onto the battlefield under your control that were put into the graveyard from anywhere this turn.

Recommendations View more recommendations

dragonstryke58 on Priority, stack, guile & myojin …

1 year ago

@Swebb87 - Yes, even if Damn was overloaded (which is an alternate cost, not an additional cost btw), it wouldn't have changed the order that things resolved in the situation. Myojin of Grim Betrayal would have been indestructible due to having the indestructible counter on it when Damn resolved. The only possible change in the situation would be Player 3 getting more creatures.

dragonstryke58 on Priority, stack, guile & myojin …

1 year ago

Q1: Player 3 is able to get Guile by using the activated ability of Myojin of Grim Betrayal in response to Guile's triggered ability being put on the stack when it is put into the graveyard.

Q2: I'm not sure what you mean by this question, but there is nothing mentioned in your scenario that allows a player to choose how something resolves.

Since you might have misunderstood how things happen, hopefully this will clarify things better:

Player 1 casts Damn targeting Guile. All players pass priority. Damn resolves destroying Guile. Guile is placed in the graveyard from the battlefield.

After Damn resolves, it is no longer on the stack. When the game checks state-based actions here, it sees that Guile was put into the graveyard, so Guile's triggered ability triggers and is put to the stack. Player 1 (Active Player since it is their turn) passes priority. Player 2 passes priority.

Player 3 activates Myojin of Grim Betrayal's ability and puts it onto the stack above Guile's triggered ability. All players pass priority.

Myojin of Grim Betrayal's ability resolves. Guile and whatever else was put into the graveyard this turn is put onto the battlefield under Player 3's control. All players pass priority.

Guile's ability resolves. The game doesn't find Guile in Player 2's graveyard. Player 2 shuffles their library though Guile will remain on the battlefield under Player 3's control (see Guile's oracle rulings).

Swebb87 on Priority, stack, guile & myojin …

1 year ago

Hi, player 1 casts a Damn, it resolves, then in response to the effect, player 2 states they will shuffle Guile into their library and passes priority, in response player 3 removes the indestructibility counter from Myojin of Grim Betrayal and states they will put all creatures onto the battlefield, including the Guile

Question 1. For player 3 to respond to the Damn it would go on the stack last and resolve first, which means player would get the Guile ?

Question 2: does player 1 get any choice in how it resolves with regards to passing priority etc?

TypicalTimmy on Why are Commander cards being …

1 year ago

I noticed this first with Lynde, Cheerful Tormentor in Midnight Hunt, because with being Grixis, she couldn't have been in the Dimir or Selesnya decks.

I'm not sure if the trend continued since, but within Neon Dynasty, Myojin of Grim Betrayal and a few others are printed as Commander cards. However, ND doesn't have a black deck? It has Gruul and Azorius.

So why are cards being printed within the "Commander" set that aren't within the colors of their respective decks, and furthermore if these decks can't have these cards, where are the cards being opened from?

Have (1) zachi
Want (0)