"When you cast" does not work from cheating a card in play?

Asked by RoyLancaster 5 months ago

I'm just asking this for clarification. Say I have Nahiri, the Harbinger on the battlefield, and I use her ult to bring in Bruna, the Fading Light. Bruna's ability does not activate because I did not cast her. Correct?

Sargeras says... Accepted answer #1

You are correct, since you you are putting the creature into play, you are not casting it, this is how cards like Aether Vial allow you to get creatures through counterspells, and why when Nahiri ults for Emrakul, the Aeons Torn, you don't get an extra turn.

March 13, 2017 11:25 p.m.

RoyLancaster says... #2

I see. Thank you very much!

March 13, 2017 11:28 p.m.

Boza says... #3

Just a note, there are cards that can activate those "on-cast" abilities even when played for free. For example, if you played Bruna off a Aetherworks Marvel, you would get the on-cast ability to bring back a creature, because marvel specifically says it casts the card, as opposed to Nahiri who does not.

March 14, 2017 4:33 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

Just a general note: on-cast abilities are triggered abilities. They "trigger"; they do not "activate." Only activated abilities can be activated. Activation is always manual, and triggering is always automatic. The difference is becoming more important thanks to cards like Strionic Resonator.

March 14, 2017 10:24 a.m.

Please login to comment