Ezuri and 0/0

Asked by AjaxSlumbering 4 months ago

If I play, for example, Cytoplast Root-Kin with Ezuri, Claw of Progress in the field, do I get an experience counter?

dragonstryke58 says... Accepted answer #1

It depends.

In your example, no, you will not get an experience counter. The Graft ability on Cytoplast Root-Kin modifies how it will enter the battlefield. It will enter with four +1/+1 counters on it and essentially be a 4/4 when it enters.

However, if you were to have a Primordial Hydra and pay zero for X, you will get a counter (if there are no other adjustments that modify its power to greater than 2). Once it enters though, state-based actions will be checked and you will also move Primordial Hydra to the graveyard as well.

Basically, as long as the creature enters the battlefield with a power of 2 or less, and nothing modifies its power as it enters to greater than 2, Ezuri, Claw of Progress with give you an experience counter.

June 2, 2019 2:03 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #2

No, you would not get an experience counter for Cytoplast Root-Kin entering. Ezuri, Claw of Progress has a triggered ability that looks at what the creature is as it exists on the battlefield. Cytoplast Root-Kin has a replacement effect that modifies how it enters the battlefield. Instead of entering with no counters on it, as a creature normally would, it enters with 4 +1/+1 counters on it. There is never a time that it exists on the battlefield and does not have the counters on it. Every 0/0 I can think of functions this way in order to not die to state-based actions.

June 2, 2019 2:11 p.m.

Kogarashi says... #3

One exception would be a new zombie token made by the Amass ability. The way the ability works, the 0/0 token is created, then the counters from Amass are placed on it, so Ezuri would see a 0/0 enter the battlefield. The only reason the zombie token isn't also put into the graveyard is because state-based actions are not checked during the resolution of an ability, so by the time Amass is done and SBAs are checked, the zombie token already has its counters.

Same with Living Weapon creatures (like the token made by Bonehoard ). The 0/0 enters the battlefield, then the equipment is attached to it, keeping it from dying due to SBAs.

June 2, 2019 2:55 p.m.

dragonstryke58 says... #4

Just to further expand upon my earlier answer: The reason I mentioned that as long as nothing modifies its power to greater than 2 is because static abilities can create continuous effects that also modify a creature's power to greater than 2 as it enters.

An example would be you having a Primordial Hydra where X was 0 entering and you control a Beastmaster Ascension with seven or more counters on it. Though the Primordial Hydra would be a 0/0, the Beastmaster Ascension 's continuous effect would give it +5/+5. Therefore, you would not get an experience counter due to the Primordial Hydra entering.

June 4, 2019 3:53 p.m.

Pieguy396 says... #5

Please remember to mark an answer as accepted so this can be removed from the unanswered queue.

June 6, 2019 11:01 a.m.

Please login to comment