Can you equipt an opponents creature in this scenario?

Asked by Lalivia 3 years ago

I want to use Malevolent Whispers taking control of his creature then put my Stitcher's Graft on it giving it +3/+3 and making it so it doesnt untap when they gets it back to keep it tapped. If so, can I then move it making him sac the creature? Also if you can i want to make sure MY equipment goes with it so it stays tapped. My goal is to eventually move the Stitcher's Graft to my Goldnight Castigator followed by a Harmless Offering

acbooster says... #1

That works how you want it to. You'll still control the Stitcher's Graft even after you lose control of the creature, and as a result you can activate its Equip ability, forcing them to sacrifice their creature. Whenever a permanent changes control, it still has all permanents attached to it that wouldn't fall off from change of control (such as Dying Wish, which requires it to be on a creature you control)

August 23, 2016 3:59 a.m.

BlueScope says... Accepted answer #2

@acbooster (and the questioner): The creature won't be sacrificed, as you control the ability, and you can only sacrifice creatures you control. There is a specific ruling regarding this case:

If Stitcher's Graft's last triggered ability triggers, but you don't control the permanent it became unattached from at the time that ability resolves (perhaps because another player has somehow gained control of it), you won't be able to sacrifice it.

And to be a bit more precise regarding the way the headline of the question is phrased: You can only ever equip a creature you control. Taking control of a creature until end of turn is enough to be able to attach your own equipment to it, and it will remain on the creature if it changes controllers again, until re-equipped to another creature. I explained this is great detail here not too long ago.

Also, since you mentioned Malevolent Whispers (and not, say, Act of Treason, let me add that if you cast it during your opponent's turn, you won't be able to activate the equip ability, as you can only activate equip abilities at sorcery speed.

August 23, 2016 5:54 a.m.

BlueScope says... #3

In order for this to work, the card would need to be phrased "When Stitcher's Graft becomes unattached from a permanent, that permanent's controller sacrifices it", similar to Mercy Killing or Arcum Dagsson

August 23, 2016 5:58 a.m.

This discussion has been closed