Can someone clarify the Undying ability further with Treacherous Pit-Dweller .

Asked by mcflash 2 months ago

As I understand it, the first time the creature dies (as it has no +1/+1 counters on it), it goes back to you (the original caster) with a +1/+1 counter (with summoning sickness also??) and if it dies again, then it goes to the graveyard and then under the opponent's control (with summoning sickness)? And if by some mechanism such as a sorcery spell, etc you were able to remove that +1/+1 counter, then the second time it dies the Treacherous Pit-Dweller goes back to you again under your control (with the +1/+1 counter re-added again)?

Boza says... Accepted answer #3

If you cast it, it enters the battlefield under your control. If it dies with no counters and returns due to the undying trigger, it will once again enter under your control, but then its enters the battlefield ability will trigger and transfer control of it to target opponent.

If TPD dies with a +1/+1 counter, undying will not trigger and it will stay in the graveyard.

Removing the counter will not remove the control-changing effect.

In short, this is a detrimental undying effect - you do not want this creature to die.

February 1, 2019 5:59 a.m.

Kogarashi says... #4

Undying doesn't change the first ability of Treacherous Pit-Dweller based on whether or not there's a counter. It just means that if TPD has no +1/+1 counters on it when it dies, it comes back from the graveyard.

As mentioned, if it enters the battlefield from the graveyard at all, an opponent will gain control of it. It doesn't matter how it got to the battlefield from the graveyard. This could be due to its own Undying trigger, or somehow being given Unearth or a similar ability. It could also be due to things like Reanimate , Rise from the Grave , Grave Betrayal , Necromantic Selection , Liliana, Death's Majesty (second ability), and so on. It's worth noting that some of these (Grave Betrayal, Necromantic Selection) could be used by your opponents to steal TPD from your graveyard. If they do, it enters under their control, but then the control-switching effect triggers and they have to hand it off to one of their opponents.

February 1, 2019 9:06 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #5

mcflash: Correct answers to this question have been up for a while. I chose one to mark as the "Accepted Answer" so that the thread can move out of the Unanswered queue. Please remember to take care of this yourself in the future.

February 8, 2019 3:25 p.m.

mcflash says... #6

Hello Radamanthus i did mark the first reply as the answer after the users asked me to do so

February 9, 2019 10:18 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #7

You did on your other question topic but this one was still left open.

February 11, 2019 11:34 a.m.

Please login to comment