Blocking double strike + Cloudshift

Asked by Warxuaroz 2 years ago

I have a Kor duelist equipped with Sword of Fire and Ice and Umezawa's Jitte . I attack. My opponent declares Kaalia of the Vast as a blocker and before the damage is dealt, Cloudshift s her. Is any damage dealt? I understand the second strike doesn't hit Kaalia as she was exiled, but does it hit the opponent?

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

Once a creature is declared blocked, it doesn't damage the defending player unless it has trample or another ability that allows it to hit them, such as "May deal combat damage as though it weren't blocked." If your opponent blocks with something like Steel Wall and Cloudshifts it, your creature deals neither first strike damage nor regular combat damage. Note however that they cannot block a creature with protection from red and blue with a red creature like Kaalia of the Vast.

April 10, 2017 4:57 p.m.

Warxuaroz says... #2

Yeah, the protection... I somehow didn't notice that. Anyway you answered my question completely. Thank you. :)

April 10, 2017 5:01 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #3

Kaalia of the Vast can't block a creature wielding Sword of Fire and Ice. For the sake of argument I'll just assume it was Sword of Body and Mind. Once a creature is blocked it deals no combat damage to the defending player unless it was trample, it doesn't matter if the blocking creature is removed from combat. Nothing in this scenario is granting trample, so no damage is dealt to the defending player.

April 10, 2017 5:03 p.m.

Please login to comment