Word of Command

Asked by Profet93 7 years ago

So I recently bought a Word of Command and I wanted to understand how it would work in the following....

I cast Word of Command, my opponent does not respond. I look at his/her hand and they have 9 mana open and a Expropriate. My questions are 2 parts...

  1. Whatever the vote turnout is, the player I am controlling would get the benefit of Expropriate, not me, correct? Meaning they would get the extra turns or permanents.

  2. With regards to voting, would I get to choose how the player I am controlling votes, and then also cast my own vote?

  3. Lastly, if I made them play a creature like Reclamation Sage, would they choose the artifact/enchantment that is being destroyed or would I?

DrukenReaps says... Accepted answer #1

http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=word+of+command most useful page i can point you towards.

1) you control them but it is that person's spell. So yes they benefit from it not you.

2) You control them until word of command and the spell you force resolve. So you get your vote and their vote.

3) By the time Reclamation Sage resolves word has already resolved and so has expropriate. So they choose what to esplode off the sage.

4) This is quite an interesting question and I think I'm right but may not be...

August 18, 2017 8:59 p.m.

Randomdeath says... #2

In the case of the expropriate you make the choices but you do not get the benefit of the choices (now if it said target player then it would be a whole different story). As for the rec sage you make the choice of what it targets cause of how command is worded.

August 18, 2017 8:59 p.m.

Randomdeath says... #3

The key wording that you gotta look at is, "that player plays the card but you make all decisions it calls for."

August 18, 2017 9:03 p.m.

DrukenReaps says... #4

I made a whoops...

you choose the target for the sage...

August 18, 2017 9:12 p.m.

Profet93 says... #5

DrukenReaps

Thank you for your detailed response. Those make sense

Randomdeath

Thank you for your correction. That is VERY good to know :) I am looking forward to making my friend's lives miserable.

Also after doing research, I can use this card at their upkeep and make them cast a spell (Ex: Damnation) and tap all their lands to pay for it if I'm not mistaken. Then since mana does not float from one stage to another, then they would have no mana for their main phase :)

August 18, 2017 10:05 p.m.

Randomdeath says... #6

Unless you found a rule that i havent seen the player whos is forced to cast the spell only has to spent mana equal to the cmc of the spell. If you wanna mess with the person Mana Short is fun.

August 18, 2017 10:16 p.m.

Profet93 says... #7

You are correct

Link. My mistake. Thank you for the clarification. I can however make them tap a land that makes a boatload of mana (Ex: Cabal Coffers and two swamps) to add 8 mana (if they have 8 swamps) and only use 4 of it for Damnation, leaving 4 extra mana used which does not transfer during phases of the turn.

August 18, 2017 10:23 p.m.

Randomdeath you do not choose the target for Reclamation Sage's etb ability.

The duration you control the opponent ends the moment the spell you force them to cast has resolved or been countered.

While the spell does say "you make all decisions it calls for" that refers to targets (i.e. Doom Blade), modes, and choices while it is still a spell on the stack. It's not talking about etb effects.

August 18, 2017 10:25 p.m.

Profet93 says... #9

Raging_Squiggle

Dropping some knowledge. Alright, that is also good to know. Thank you for the further clarification.

August 18, 2017 10:31 p.m.

Neotrup says... #10

It's worth noting that while they do benefit from the Expropriate, you can minimize their benefit as for each money vote you can choose a fairly worthless permanent to gain control of.

August 19, 2017 4:18 a.m.

Profet93 says... #11

Neotrup

That is worth noting. I almost forgot about that. Thank you for your input. I appreciate it.

August 19, 2017 1:01 p.m.

Please login to comment