Who dies first when everyone receives lethal damage?

Asked by MemoryLapse 7 months ago

In this scenario, I am in a game of commander. I am playing Thrasios, Triton Hero and Vial Smasher the Fierce storm. I have only a couple of win conditions: Isochron Scepter (with something like Lightning Bolt under it and a Paradox Engine out) and Aetherflux Reservoir . But sadly, both of those are irrelevant. Both scepter and reservoir are in my graveyard as well as all of my recursion cards. I have no way to shuffle my graveyard into my deck. The rest of my deck consists of mostly rocks and cantrips, but no clear way to win.

I am, however, able to storm off quite nicely with a Paradox Engine and generate 50-100 mana of each relevant color. I then find myself with a copy of Rolling Earthquake in hand.

If I cast Rolling Earthquake for a large enough amount of mana to reduce all player's life totals to zero or less life, how does the game end? Does any player win based on turn order? Do I win?

Thank you in advance for any insight you can give on the issue.

MemoryLapse says... #1

(I should mention that this is in a four player game. It can be assumed that all opponents have no effects relevant to the scenario other than the fact they they are in the game.)

March 16, 2019 11:37 p.m.

pskinn01 says... Accepted answer #2

Game ends in a draw as state based actions are checked and there is no order in which players damaged by same source will due

March 17, 2019 12:24 a.m.

Kogarashi says... #3

Relevant rule:

104.4a If all the players remaining in a game lose simultaneously, the game is a draw.

State-based actions are checked simultaneously, so everyone would lose at the same time. Thus a draw.

March 17, 2019 1:51 a.m.

Please login to comment