Does Blood Moon overwrite Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth?
Asked by whallybu49 12 years ago
I had an idea for land control featuring Blood Moon and its corresponding Magus of the Moon , Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth , and Stormtide Leviathan , and i was confused about the interaction between the two. Thanks!
Gatherer is a thing. Please check Gatherer for rulings on a card before coming to ask- it reduces the amount of questions. Thank you.
4/1/2008: If Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth and either Blood Moon or Magus of the Moon are on the battlefield, all nonbasic lands will be Mountains, not Swamps. Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth will be a Mountain as well. It will have "T: Add R to your mana pool" and no other abilities.
October 23, 2012 7:15 a.m.
Be careful with timestamps. If Stormtide Leviathan enters the battlefield first, all lands will gain the type Island. However, if Blood Moon (or Magus of the Moon ) enter the battlefield after, then all nonbasics will become Mountains, losing their previous types. So, your basic lands would be Island in addition to their type, and nonbasic lands would be only Mountains.
October 23, 2012 8:25 a.m.
Zen_Toombs says... #4
That is correct mafteechr, I should have been more clear.
October 23, 2012 8:52 a.m.
Are you sure about the timestamps? I think Stormtide Leviathan's ability is static and will just add Island to the converted Mountains no matter what the order is.
October 23, 2012 10:54 a.m.
GoblinsInc says... #6
@SGB
It is static, thats true. But why would that change anything? Blood moon's ability is also static. Timestamps are used here to determine what applies in what order due to all of these effects applying in the same layer.
Zen_Toombs says... Accepted answer #1
Okay, not sure exactly what your question is, so I'll answer everything.
If you have Blood Moon or Magus of the Moon out, all non-basic lands turn into Mountain s, losing all abilities. Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth is a non-basic land, and it would turn into a Mountain . Other lands would not turn into swamps, because Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth no longer has its ability "Each land is a Swamp in addition to its other types".
Separately, if you had Stormtide Leviathan out at the same time as Blood Moon /Magus of the Moon , all non-basic lands would be Mountain s because of Blood Moon and Island s because of Stormtide Leviathan . All lands with the basic type (i.e. normal Forest s, Swamp s, etc) would still be Forest s and Swamp s and so forth, but would also have the Island type and could tap for [U].
October 23, 2012 12:28 a.m.