Can I search for cards with Wild Pair if I cast a non-creature permanent from my hand with Mycosynth Lattice and March of the Machines on the battlefield?
Asked by JoyTheEnbySliverLover 4 years ago
So my logic is that if I cast a non-creature permanent from my hand it will enter as an artifact creature in addition to its other non-creature types. As per the wording of Wild Pair, a creature did enter the battlefield and it was cast from my hand. Does my logic hold up or am I mistaken about the ruling? All help is appreciated.
P.S. I realise that it's not a particularly good search mechanic but it would be at least a little bit useful if it works, hence me asking.
Yes. Given the following Gathering ruling on Mycosynth Lattice:
"The Lattice’s first ability causes Auras to become artifacts. Combined with March of the Machines from the Mirrodin set, this can then make those Auras become creatures. An Aura that’s also a creature can’t enchant anything. It’s unattached the next time state-based actions are checked, and then immediately put into its owner’s graveyard as a second state-based action."
The above would mean that the non-creature permanents enter the battlefield as creatures.
February 6, 2020 12:18 p.m.
One gameplay note: this takes 16 mana + whatever the non-creature permanent you cast costs to search for a single creature. Really, a Planar Bridge would be just as effective and cheaper to boot.
February 6, 2020 12:29 p.m.
Boza - I have Planar Bridge in the deck and it is amazing. This question is just a quick discovery I made about the 3 cards that I just wanted to check was actually a thing. I probably won't ever use the combo but it adds to search abilities I already have in the deck if I ever choose to use it. Plus, the 3 cards have other uses that are far better than this so I'm going to keep them in the deck. Thanks for the input. It is always very useful to hear other peoples knowledge and wisdom when deck building.
February 6, 2020 12:50 p.m.
It's important to note that while Mycosynth Lattice and March of the Machines will make all your non-creature permanents into artifact creatures, this only works on the battlefield. When you search your library for a creature, it must be a creature card.
February 6, 2020 3:26 p.m.
Kogarashi - I understand that completely. I was only asking as it is a very janky, very amusing combo. I don't think I will actively use it as a search ability as I have far easier far simpler ways of getting stuff out. I have had the cards in my deck for ages and never noticed. I don't plan on removing them as their other functions, in my deck, are incredibly important.
Thanks for the clarification. I always like to get other people to explain stuff, even if I think I already know about the topic as I have had errors in my understanding in the past. Some of those times I was certain I was right but was proven wrong. I learnt from those mistakes and now have a better understanding of the game.