can i activate Vault of the Archangels ability on their turn?
Asked by permhole96 13 years ago
how does that whole deal work...
like, can you activate artifacts/creatures/lands/enchantments on their turn?
Alphawolf626 says... Accepted answer #2
activated abilities (abilities with mana symbols or tap symbol) can be activated on their turn, along with cards that can be played at instant speed.
Most artifacts have activated abilities, so they can be activated on your opponents turn. They also do not suffer from summoning sickness.
Creatures can only be cast on an opponents turn IF they have Flash (Nephalia Seakite )or specifically say they can be cast outside of your turn. If a creature has activated abilities, they can be activated on your opponents turn, provided they don't have summoning sickness if it requires tapping the creature. If a creatures ability only uses mana (i.e. Havengul Lich ) then it can be activated at any time and is NOT affected by summoning sickness. On the other hand, a creature like Birds of Paradise must wait until you go through your next upkeep phase before you can use its ability, but after it does not have summoning sickness, you can tap it at any time for mana even on your opponents's turn.
Lands can be activated at any time, but if it transforms into a creature, the creature will have summoning sickness during the turn the land was played. I believe lands suffer from summoning sickness, so I cant activate Gavony Township at instant speed as I throw it down, but next turn I could...However I MAY be wrong about that. I could, however, activate Gavony on my opponent's turn...say in response to a Black Sun's Zenith .
As far as I know, enchantments can only be cast on your turn at sorcery speed.
March 5, 2012 8:50 p.m.
Lands are not affected by summoning sickness. Think about it: if they were, a turn 1 Goblin Guide would be an illegal play. Only creatures are affected by summoning sickness.
Any card that is not an instant and does not have flash must be cast during your main phase with the stack empty (sorcery speed).
Activated abilities do not have to cost mana, Viscera Seer also has an activated ability.
A creature that has not been continuously under your control since the start of your last turn can't attack or use activated abilities that contain the tap or untap symbols in their costs, unless it has haste. This is informally called the summoning sickness rule.
March 5, 2012 8:56 p.m.
Alphawolf626 says... #4
I see what you are saying about the other's, except the last part. it has to be in your control since the start of your most recent turn, not your last. Otherwise casting Midnight Haunting on your opponent's end step and then attacking with the 2 spirits during your next combat step would be an illegal play.
March 5, 2012 9:01 p.m.
"Your most recent turn" means the turn that most recently started, not the turn that most recently ended. You could also think of it as being your most recent untap step.
March 5, 2012 9:04 p.m.
permhole96 says... #6
so if i put Midnight Haunting into the battlefield on their turn, i can attack on my turn?
bcurran says... #1
Unless otherwise stated, you can activate abilities at any time you could cast an instant. So yes.
March 5, 2012 8:07 p.m.