Sudden Shock

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Archenemy Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Modern Beyond Horizons Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Planar Constructed Legal
Planechase Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Sudden Shock

Instant

Split second (As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't cast spells or activate abilities that aren't mana abilities.)

Sudden Shock deals 2 damage to target creature, player or planeswalker.

tigermanic on split second combo stack manipulation …

4 weeks ago

StYY I wouldn't be able to tap creatures like Thermo-Alchemist while a split second spell is on the stack, so untapping them isn't necessarily helpful.

But getting Sudden Shock copied in the stack with a damage double in play would totally get me when I'm going!

legendofa on split second combo stack manipulation …

1 month ago

I'm a little hazier on this part, but I believe a spell is removed from the stack as it resolves. So Sudden Shock would resolve, removing itself from the stack and dealing damage. Imodane, the Pyrohammer would trigger in response to the damage, but Sudden Shock has already fully resolved and left the stack.

On-cast triggers would work. If you lean into the face-down stuff, Bonethorn Valesk and Pyrotechnic Performer can also set damage triggers while a split second card is on the stack.

tigermanic on split second combo stack manipulation …

1 month ago

legendofa, Would Sudden Shock still be on the stack when an Imodane, the Pyrohammer begins dealing damage due to it only targeting and damaging a single target? Or will I need to look for on cast triggered abilities?

tigermanic on split second combo stack manipulation …

1 month ago

I'm I've built a Red burn Commander deck with Toralf, God of Fury  Flip at the helm.

I have a plan of using a split second spell, like Sudden Shock followed by flipping a morphed burn creature like Skirk Volcanist to start a damage trigger cascade that opponents will not be able to easily interact with.

My question is if there is anything I could be doing to get a split second spell to sit on the stack while damage triggers go off without needing a morph creature sitting on standby?

jethstriker on burn deck help to refurbish

1 year ago

While I agree that Sudden Shock is terrible in mainboard, I can say it has its merits as a sideboard card. When I was still playing RG Tron, it is one of the card considered in the sideboard because of how bad RG Tron's matchup is with UG Infect.

legendofa on burn deck help to refurbish

1 year ago

9-lives A card is only "on the stack" between when it's cast and when it resolves. Before it's cast, it hasn't reached the stack yet, and when it resolves, it leaves the stack.

The reminder text for split second states that "As long as this spell is on the stack, players can’t cast spells or activate abilities that aren’t mana abilities." This means that during the period of time between when you cast Sudden Shock and when it resolves, nobody can cast spells or activate abilities (unless those abilities produce mana).

If somebody tries to cast a creature spell after you cast Sudden Shock but before Sudden Shock resolves, they simply can't. The creature spell isn't nullified, it just isn't allowed to begin in the first place. After Sudden Shock resolves, there are no more restrictions on what can be played. Everyone can cast spells freely.

9-lives on burn deck help to refurbish

1 year ago

wallisface I thought that if I cast Sudden Shock on the opponent's turn, they will cast, say a creature spell after I cast Sudden Shock and then the creature spell is considered nullified? I don't understand why it's only in response to my card that the stack has.

wallisface on burn deck help to refurbish

1 year ago

9-lives no not at all. Split Second only applies while a spell is on the stack. A spell is only on the stack until it resolves - which in this case will be almost immediately.

If you cast Sudden Shock at the beginning of an opponents turn, they won’t be able to cast spells or activate abilities in response to that spell. But then, Sudden Shock resolves and deals 2 damage, and the opponent can then cast spells and activate abilities as normal.

The card is bad.

Load more
Have (0)
Want (1) ZBrannigan