landofMordor says... #10

Our recent conversation has been in the back of my mind for a few days, and I realized why yesterday -- the idea of engaging biblical texts "rabbinically" in the Christian Bible, authentically and respectfully, but also not necessarily hyper-literally, applies to one of my favorite novels: Lazarus is Dead by Richard Beard. I think you might really enjoy it, but it took me a couple of days to subconsciously piece that together (: cheers!

April 29, 2019 4:21 p.m. Edited.

Please login to comment

This is Magic: Skithiryx, the Blight Dragon , Steel Hellkite , and the other strange flying creatures probably just Plane-walk.

May 24, 2019 2:20 p.m.

In the future, please remember to hit the "Mark as Answer" button once your question has been resolved. Not only does this signal to other users that you have no follow-up questions, but it also helps keep the unanswered questions list clear of resolved questions and helps future users quickly identify the correct answer.

As this question has been resolved for a couple days, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf. I generally try to avoid marking my own answers, but, in this case, mine is the only option.

May 23, 2019 11:51 a.m.

In the future, please remember to hit the "Mark as Answer" button once your question has been resolved. Not only does this signal to other users that you have no follow-up questions, but it also helps keep the unanswered questions list clear of resolved questions and helps future users quickly identify the correct answer.

As this question has been resolved for a couple days, I have gone ahead and marked an answer on your behalf.

May 23, 2019 11:51 a.m.

Said on A War on ......

#4

So you know, there will only be two planeswalkers in this set. We have already had Serra spoiled, the other is forthcoming. Based on the art of Planebound Accomplice , I think we can reasonably guess the new PW will be Green.

Speaking of, Planebound Accomplice might be a good card to consider.

May 23, 2019 10:58 a.m.

Hi_diddly_ho_neighbor - we just had Ayula spoiled. She's a (slightly more legendary) Grizzley Bear .

enter image description here

May 23, 2019 10:54 a.m.

*Based on the spell’s converted mana cost. My apologies — autocorrect is a wicked tool.

May 23, 2019 9:45 a.m.

This will work. Cascade is based on the cast spell’s converged mana cost, not how much was spent to cast the card.

Rule 702.84a Cascade is a triggered ability that functions only while the spell with cascade is on the stack. “Cascade” means “When you cast this spell, exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a nonland card whose converted mana cost is less than this spell’s converted mana cost. You may cast that card without paying its mana cost. Then put all cards exiled this way that weren’t cast on the bottom of your library in a random order.”

May 23, 2019 9:26 a.m.

Any chance you could provide the link to MaRo's citation or the actual text? I am a bit curious as to the exact wording.

May 22, 2019 3:59 p.m.

The first effect, for cards like Act of Treason , is used when Player A originally controlled the creature and Player B took it. Think of it this way--if they lose the game, the effect that gave them power over that object goes away, so the control reverts back to the object's prior controller.

Cards like Bribery do not change control of the creature. Player A might be the owner of the card, but they never controlled it. So, when Player B, who controls the object, loses the game, there is no other controller for the object to return to.

For Nightveil Specter , whoever controls Nightveil Specter can cast any of the cards exiled by it, regardless of who controlled Nightveil Specter when the card was exiled.

Also, important to note, Xantcha, Sleeper Agent has a control changing effect ("an opponent of your choice gains control of it.") So, when her controller loses the game, if that controller is not her owner, she will revert to her owner's control. That's one that trips up a lot of people, so I like to specifically mention it.

May 22, 2019 3:47 p.m. Edited.

saj0219 - First Sliver is going to be better off as a Food Chain commander. It far surpasses both Niv and Tazri as the Food Chain commander of choice, since you can use its own cascade ability to cast every single card in your deck.

For slivers, I think Overlord is still a better bet than First Sliver.

May 22, 2019 11:18 a.m. Edited.

Said on The First Sliver?...

#11

We do not know very much about the origins of the Slivers. We know that they were discovered on a currently unnamed world and brought to Rath for experimentation.

We do know this is the single best Food Chain commander, seeing as you can use it cast through cascade every single card in your deck.

May 22, 2019 11:01 a.m.

enter image description here

Translation:

Until end of turn, target creature you control becomes a Wurm with base power and toughness 6/4.

Overload 4GG


Notice how nothing in the text modifies the abilities of the creature(s). As such, Slippery Bogle will still have hexproof and Glistener Elf will still have infect.

Fun times.

May 22, 2019 10:16 a.m.

Hi_diddly_ho_neighbor - Curious, how do you intend to use those two to get the T3 Blightsteel Colossus ? Blightsteel Colossus 's replacement effect gets in the way of such graveyard shenanigans--however, it is early and I have not had caffeine yet, so I might be missing some part of your plan.

I think Goblin Engineers will be a solid card for Commander, provided you have enough recursion and can deal with things like Rest in Peace . For Modern, I am not so sure--while there are ways to recur artifacts in Modern, I feel you'd still be better off ramping with Tron.

May 22, 2019 9:03 a.m.

Said on Altered Ego / ......

#14

I presume the ability you are referring to is "Genesis Hydra enters the battlefield with X +1/+1 counters on it", and your question is whether the in Altered Ego 's casting cost translates to the X in Genesis Hydra's own replacement effect.

It does not. From the Gatherer ruling on Altered Ego :

If the chosen creature has in its mana cost, that X is considered to be 0. The value of X in Altered Ego’s last ability will be whatever value was chosen for X while casting Altered Ego.

May 21, 2019 1:52 p.m.

saj0219 - the new Horizon Canopy cycle is enemy colours, not allied colours like the original. As such, we can expect all five enemy coloured pairs to be represented.

May 21, 2019 12:22 p.m.

Said on KingTood...

#16

Not trying to insert myself into y'all's conversation, but I saw the posts pop-up on the recent comments stream on the homepage and figured I would offer some clarification as to this site's mechanics.

Only upgraded members are able to delete comments from their own walls/decks, and they cannot delete their comments made on other user's pages. That's most likely the reason you cannot see a delete button--it's not a feature available to you.

May 21, 2019 12:05 p.m.

I would recommend against most of the suggestions presented above, for the following reasons:

Ezuri, Renegade Leader / Krenko, Mob Boss - tribal strategies are pretty easy to pick up, but very limited in what they do. If she does not like the tribe or the very linear, go wide and swing playstyle, that's going to dissuade her from playing the game.

The Theros Gods are pretty hit-or-miss. You'll want to avoid the mono-coloured gods, since you want to provide as much diversity of play as possible so she can start to learn what type of deck she enjoys. Kruphix, God of Horizons might be a good choice--decent colours and an ability that fits well in a couple different types of playstyle.

Prossh, Skyraider of Kher can probably be fine, but, based on the limited information provided, R/B does not seem like her colours.

Isamaru, Hound of Konda and other Voltron commanders tend to be a bit linear.


My recommendation would be to get a couple of the precon decks, as they tend to be similar in power level to one another, and tend to be diverse enough to be enjoyable, without being too complex.

Baring that, consider building your own decks that are at the precon power level (i.e. not that optimized, so they produce longer games where new players can experience a plethora of different interactions). It's pretty easy to take a couple random Legends you already have sitting about and combine it with bulk to build a precon-level deck with little-to-no additional investment.

This will leave you with a bunch of different decks, so she has several options and can learn what type of playstyle she enjoys. The decks themselves might not be great, but I've found diversity and playing against similarly-powered decks is more important than optimization to a new player.

May 21, 2019 9:57 a.m.

There is not a rule against upvoting your own deck, so you are not going to get in trouble (unless you start creating multiple accounts to upvote yourself).

May 21, 2019 8:43 a.m.

Couple quick admin points. First, please link all your cards when asking questions using double brackets. It makes it a bit easier for others to respond. For example:

[[massacre girl]]

[[emergence Zone]]

[[Kasmina’s Transmutation]]

Massacre Girl

Emergence Zone

Kasmina's Transmutation

Second, there is a Rules Q&A section for questions regarding rules, cards, or card interactions. I have moved your question for you. Please remember to hit the green “Mark as Answer” button once your question has been resolved.


I wanted to build on Daveslab2022’s answer to clarify two points.

  1. Auras that are cast are targeted, and must have a valid target to be cast. Until Massacre Girl enters the battlefield, she is not a valid target for Kasmina's Transmutation , thus why you cannot target her.

  2. Triggered abilities exist independently of their source. Once Massacre Girl ’s ability is on the stack, enchanting Massacre Girl will not cause her ability to disappear. Also, note that the chain reaction from Massacre Girl ’s ever-increasing massacre is a delayed trigger caused by the original ability; that also will not be prevented by Kasmina's Transmutation .

May 21, 2019 12:16 a.m.

Said on Dark Depths Combo...

#20

Vesuva and Dark Depths do not work together.

Vesuva enters the battlefield as a copy of that land--this is a replacement effect that changes the manner it enters the battlefield. In this case, it will enter as if it were a Dark Depths , which means Dark Depths' own replacement effect putting 10 ice counters on it also applies.

Thespian's Stage becomes a copy of Dark Depths , but, since counters are not copied and since Thespian's Stage was already on the battlefield, the replacement effect portion of Dark Depths is never implicated by the copy. Since the Thespian's Stage copy has no counters on it, the triggered ability triggers, and you get the token.

May 20, 2019 3:24 p.m.

Decks

240 Card Modern Battle of Wits

Modern cdkime

SCORE: 38 | 19 COMMENTS | 7591 VIEWS | IN 9 FOLDERS

Pinball Wizard - Karona, False God EDH

Commander / EDH cdkime

SCORE: 20 | 36 COMMENTS | 2480 VIEWS | IN 3 FOLDERS

Mr. Smith Goes to Ravnica

Modern cdkime

SCORE: 27 | 10 COMMENTS | 1454 VIEWS | IN 5 FOLDERS

Finished Decks 30
Prototype Decks 26
Drafts 0
Playing since Seventh Edition
Points 4832
Avg. deck rating 21.75
T/O Rank 9
Helper Rank 25
Good Card Suggestions 322
Last activity 4 hours
Joined 2 years