Stack question on interactions with madness and Vengevine .

Asked by Pheardemons 2 years ago

So background on this question, I have just cast a Gravecrawler and have a Liliana of the Veil on the battlefield and a Vengevine in my graveyard. So I uptick Liliana of the Veil to discard Asylum Visitor (of which I will pay the madness cost).

1) In the reminder text of madness it does say you cast the card, therefore this should count toward the second creature for Vengevine right? And if it does...

2) How will all of this resolve? Liliana of the Veil upticks and I discard Asylum Visitor and pay the madness cost. Do I put Asylum Visitor on the battlefield, then Vengevine 's trigger resolves? Or because madness is cast, Vengevine 's trigger will go on the stack above it (therefore resolve first) so that Vengevine enters the battlefield first and then Asylum Visitor enters the battlefield?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

Madness has you cast the creature, so it will go on the stack and resolve or can be countered normally. Since you are casting your second creature for the turn it will trigger Vengevine and as normal Vengevine will be returned to the battlefield before the creature spell that triggered it resolves.

February 5, 2017 11:40 a.m.

acbooster says... #2

To answer the first: It does count for Vengevine since you are casting it.

To answer the second: Lili's ability resolves and you discard the Visitor to exile, as per the static ability. Then the Visitor's Madness trigger goes on the stack. If you pay for it, you cast the Visitor and it goes on the stack. Then, Vengevine's trigger will go on the stack before the Visitor resolves (the ability triggers on cast). Assuming there're no responses, the Vengevine will go to the field and then the Visitor will resolve.

It's important to note for both this question and your other one that the card with Madness does not go to the graveyard right away. Rather, it goes to exile and has a trigger. If someone counters the trigger, then the Madness card will stay in exile. This also means that, in this scenario, if your opponent Disallows the Madness trigger, you'd get neither the visitor nor the Vengevine since you would never get the chance to cast it.

February 5, 2017 11:55 a.m. Edited.

Pheardemons says... #3

Thank you both!

February 6, 2017 8:55 a.m.

This discussion has been closed