Rule Question: Crypt Rats + Lifelink

Asked by CardTyrant 11 months ago

I run a rat EDH with a killer combo of using Crypt Rats with Lifelink equipment. Now, when I active Crypt Rats ability and damage everything, do I gain just the initial damage, or the whole total.

EXAMPLE: 2 Opponents both have a creature each. Crypt Rats deals 3 damage for X. Do I gain just 3 life (than lose three life), OR do I gain 12 life (3+3+3+3 since I damaged 2 players, and two creatures)?

MindAblaze says... Accepted answer #1

Rules questions go in the Q&A, but you gain 3x life where x is the number of players/permanents that took damage. Essentially, the crypt rats dealt 18 (3 to you and itself) damage, so you gain 18 life.

January 7, 2017 11:49 p.m.

CardTyrant says... #2

Thanks, I was looking but I didn't find Q&A. I am as blind as a rat. But thank you for the answer.

That seems like a very broken combo than. I have ways to make my rattie indestructible too, so I can abuse that effect over and over again.

January 7, 2017 11:54 p.m.

MindAblaze says... #3

January 7, 2017 11:59 p.m.

And for future reference, Rules Q&A is in the header bar, between Forums and Community.

January 8, 2017 12:21 a.m.

Neotrup says... #5

As sources of protection have been brought up it's worth mentioning that if the damage to the rats (or your other creatures) is prevented you don't gain life from them. If the creatures are indestructible the damage still happens so you gain the life. Basilisk Collar also deserves a shout out, as it gives lifelink while making it so even with X=1 Crypt Rats is a field wipe.

January 8, 2017 4:34 a.m.

CardTyrant says... #6

Thanks for the advice.

MindAblaze, I already have Akroma's Memorial in the deck, just not the swords for they were a bit pricey for me.

Neotrup, I was actually thinking of adding Basilisk Collar to the deck, I just don't know what I would take out for it. Trying to have an equal number of lifelink cards to indestructible cards.

January 8, 2017 8:45 a.m.

This discussion has been closed