Homeward Path versus Seal Away

Asked by Master_Tame 1 year ago

My opponent uses Seal Away on one of my creatures. Then I activate Homeward Path's ability. Do I regain control of my creature or does Seal Away have to leave the battle first?

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

No. Homeward Path only effects creatures on the battlefield. Seal Away exiles the creature so it's now a creature card in exile.

July 26, 2018 1:03 p.m.

Master_Tame says... #2

Neotrup, thanks for your answer. I marked it as an accepted answer, but I actually have another question for you. Homeward Path's activated ability says nothing about creatures on the battlefield. It just says "Each player gains control of all creatures he or she owns." So I guess I'm still curious about my initial question since I still own the card exiled by Seal Away.

July 26, 2018 2:01 p.m.

Kogarashi says... #3

In order to control a creature you own, it must be on the battlefield (otherwise it's a "creature card, not a "creature").

Homeward Path's utility is in regaining control of creatures that have been taken from you via effects like Mind Control, Simic Manipulator, Traitorous Instinct, Death's Presence, etc.

In the case of Seal Away, you still control the creature. It's just been exiled.

July 26, 2018 4:22 p.m.

Master_Tame says... #4

Thank you for the clarification, Kogarashi. Now I understand the difference between a creature card and a creature. I appreciate you taking the time.

July 26, 2018 4:39 p.m.

Kogarashi says... #5

You're welcome.

And to clarify in my response, I wrote the wrong card name for one thing. Not Death's Presence, but Grave Betrayal. (I've got both in one deck and keep mixing up the names.)

July 26, 2018 6:02 p.m.

Please login to comment