Can you manipulate your library in response to opponent casting to make Counterbalance work?

Asked by ALX 3 years ago

Can you manipulate your library in response to your opponent casting (say with Reclaim ) to ensure your top card allows Counterbalance to counter their spell? Or is there no opportunity to do anything between them casting and the Counterbalance trigger going off?

Example: You have Counterbalance in play, they cast Lightning Bolt then you cast Reclaim and put a Spell Snare from your graveyard to the top of your library and then Counterbalance resolves and you reveal Spell Snare countering the Bolt.

Boza says... Accepted answer #1

Yes.

Provided you act in response to the trigger of Counterbalance, you can do above sequence. The stack will look like this:

Top
Reclaim
Counterbalance trigger
Opponent's spell
Bottom

June 2, 2016 6:23 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

For a practical example: the interaction between Sensei's Divining Top and Counterbalance is what makes the "Miracles" deck one of the top-tier decks for the Legacy format.

June 2, 2016 11:56 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Remember that abilities don't do anything until they resolve. It doesn't matter that the ability triggers as soon as your opponent casts the spell; it matters that you can respond to the ability because it doesn't resolve immediately.

June 2, 2016 2:08 p.m.

This discussion has been closed