Can I summon Emrakul from the Graveyard

Asked by SpiritFangz 2 years ago

Say T1: Swamp --> Dark Ritual --> Entomb targeting Emrakul, the Aeons Torn putting him into my graveyard. Using the stack can I use Exhume or Animate Dead on Emrakul, the Aeons Torn before his second ability resolves because later played spells on the stack resolve first?

lordoftheshadows says... Accepted answer #1

You cannot do this because both Exhume and Animate Dead can only be cast at sorcery speed. You could do it if you have an instant speed spell like Goryo's Vengeance.

What happens in your scenario is:

  1. Emrakul's ability triggers and goes on the stack

  2. You get priority and can cast instants or spells with flash; you still can't cast Animate Dead or Exhume.

  3. Emraku's ability resolves and shuffles back.

  4. You can now cast sorcery speed spells like Animate Dead.

July 1, 2015 4:47 p.m.

DJSeras says... #2

Or if you have blue in the deck just use Quicken

July 2, 2015 4:26 p.m.

LordAshaman says... #3

Emrakul cant go to a graveyard...

July 3, 2015 2:27 a.m.

DJSeras says... #4

LordAshaman, Yes Emrakul, the Aeons Torn can go to the graveyard, he just has a triggered ability to be moved after the fact, and using a combo before the trigger recolves such as Quicken + Exhume can achieve the desired results

July 3, 2015 2:38 a.m.

This discussion has been closed