Are entering /leaving battlefield affects work as a spell or a ability?

Asked by thee_Forrest 6 years ago

Contagion Clasp entering and Necropede dying would those -1/-1 trigger Livewire Lash and if Inquisitor's Flail is also equipped would those be -2/-2? hopefully I asked this right.. Cheers and thanks!

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Contagion Clasp and Necropede have triggered abilities. A triggered ability is always written in the form "When/Whenever/At [condition], [effect]."

Inquisitor's Flail 's equip ability (and all equip abilities) is an activated ability. An activated ability is always written in the form "[cost]: [effect]."

Spells are cards, or copies of cards, on the stack.

August 31, 2014 6:19 p.m.

flyguy says... #2

Neither Contagion Clasp nor Necropede dying would trigger Livewire Lash because both Contagion Clasp and Necropede 's abilities are triggered abilities, and Livewire Lash 's creature's ability is triggered by a spell, which is different from an ability.

Inquisitor's Flail would not make those -2/-2 because putting counters on a permanent is not dealing damage, which is what Inquisitor's Flail is looking for.

August 31, 2014 6:21 p.m.

flyguy says... #3

D'oh Ninja'ed!

August 31, 2014 6:22 p.m.

EddCrawley says... #4

also, Inquisitor's Flail only doubles combat damage, that being damage dealt from one creature to another creature blocked by it, or to a player or planeswalker if that creature is not blocked, or is unblockable.

Fall of the Hammer and Prey Upon do not deal combat damage.

Lightning Bolt cast during declare blockers phase is not combat damage.

Damage dealt to Boros Reckoner by another creature in combat is combat damage, but his triggered ability to copy the damage is not combat damage.

Firemane Avenger 's battalion ability which triggers during declare attackers phase is not combat damage.

I'm sure there are others, but this is all I could do before my Manager walked behind me...

September 2, 2014 8:03 a.m.

This discussion has been closed