3 free spells with Spellweaver Helix + Spellweaver Volute ?

Asked by SorcerersBone 5 years ago

Is it possible to cast 3 freebies with these 2 cards?

I can't think of any spells i particularly care about, so lets say I have imprinted 2 sorceries on the helix, a Demonic Tutor and a Tinker , and i've enchanted a Snap in a graveyard while there's a Lightning Bolt lying around there too.

This is how I see it. If I cast a matching Tutor, both the Helix and Volute should trigger. Then if i copy the Snap from the Volute, the Volute then enchants another instant, the Bolt, then i get to cast the Tinker copy from the Helix, then the Volute triggers again and I can cast the Bolt.

Please correct me if I'm wrong.

ahuramazda says... #1

I think there is a problem with the wording on those cards. Both use the words "whenever a card is played" or "whenever you play" but i'm pretty sure that the word "play" is meant as "cast", in which case this would apply: "706.10. To copy a spell or activated ability means to put a copy of it on to the stack; a copy of a spell isnt cast and a copy of an activated ability isnt activated." straight from the rule book. In a few words, during the example you described, what would happen would be that the copy of Tinker , that your Spellweaver Helix triggered ability would produce, will not trigger Spellweaver Volute a second time. You'd cast Demonic Tutor , then Snap , then Tinker and the combo ends right there.

September 25, 2014 6:37 p.m.

FancyTuesday says... Accepted answer #2

706.10 is referring to effects that "copy target spell" such as Wild Ricochet which create copies on the stack. Spellweaver Helix is different in that it creates a copy in exile (not on the stack) that you then "cast" as per its oracle text (see it's Gatherer page here). Spellweaver Helix's copies, if you choose to cast them, are cast and trigger all "when you cast" effects.

When you cast Demonic Tutor it triggers both Spellweaver Volute and Spellweaver Helix . If you put the Volute trigger on top Volute resolves first and you cast Snap , then enchant Lightning Bolt . Then Helix resolves and you cast Tinker , triggering Volute and casting Lightning Bolt.

So yes, 3 free spells are cast for free in this scenario.

September 25, 2014 7:14 p.m.

ahuramazda says... #3

Well that seems about right. I was under the wrong impression that copies are allways created on the stack.

September 25, 2014 7:25 p.m.

GoblinsInc says... #4

copies of spells are created on the stack. copies of cards are not the same.

September 26, 2014 12:48 a.m.

merrowMania says... #5

So long as you control the helix (or another artifact) when its ability resolves, things will play out exactly as you described (Tinker still requires that you sac an artifact to cast it. The helix only allows you to cast it without paying its mana cost.

September 26, 2014 11:13 a.m.

This discussion has been closed