Would this actually work?
Asked by Postmortal_Pop 8 years ago
So I just learned that you can cascade into cards with no mana cost like Living End because technically they have a cmc of 0. This raises a questions that I thought I had gotten answered..
Could you imprint Lotus Bloom on Prototype Portal and would it make the X cost 0?
I had asked the local judge at my LGS and his ruling was that "cards with no mana cost have no cmc so you wouldn't be able to pay any amount for X," much like if you were to try and cast it from your hand.
Could condone place sort this out for me?
Raging_Squiggle says... #3
Not infinite mana. Just 3 a turn since you have to tap the Portal to activate it.
July 25, 2016 3:21 a.m.
0It does work. I've got a modern deck which pretty much relies upon it working ( Elite Arcanist + Evermind . You cannot PAY a non existent CMCs, but its CMC is zero. given you're playing/copying/casting a spell without paying its mana cost, so you aren't breaking the "non-existent mana costs cannot be paid" stipulation
July 25, 2016 6:39 a.m.
jparker-sartori21 says... #5
July 25, 2016 7:17 a.m.
Postmortal_Pop says... #6
You could also do Lotus Bloom+Prototype Portal+Filigree Sages+Rings of Brighthearth
Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1
You can indeed exile Bloom under the Portal. And you can indeed activate the Portal's ability for
=
, putting a copy of Lotus Bloom into play.
This is because the Bloom has a CMC of 0. Even though there's no way to cast it by normal means, the portal only cares about the CMC of the imprinted card.
July 25, 2016 3:14 a.m.