Stack interaction in artifact combo

Asked by PhotogenicParasympathetic 6 years ago

Let's say I have an Ichor Wellspring, a Mirrorworks, and a Krark-Clan Ironworks in play, and a Myr Retriever in hand, and am completely tapped out of mana.

Does the following loop work?

Sac the Wellspring to KCI for .
Draw a card.
Cast Retriever.
Trigger Mirrorworks upon ETB.
Respond to the trigger by sacrificing Retriever to KCI for .
Get back Wellspring.
Pay for the Mirrorworks to make a copy of the Retriever.
Sacrifice the Retriever Copy to KCI for .
Get back the Retriever card from my graveyard.
Recast the Wellspring.
Draw a card.
Rinse and repeat for infinite draws through my deck, finding some other more lethal combo to finish everyone.

Boza says... #1


Mirrorworks' trigger only requires you to pay for it on resolution, not when it is put on the stack. I think this is the point of confusion.

March 27, 2017 4:19 a.m.

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #2

As a note you can use KCI to sacrifice the original in response to the Mirrorworks' trigger to float the mana, or make the sacrifice on resolution, as it is a mana ability. The only difference is whether the triggered ability from the dies trigger occurs before mirrorworks resolves or after. You can also use the mirrorworks to copy the wellspring, doubling your draws each time through the loop, but that doesn't make much difference as it has no effect on the mana math and your doing this an arbitrary number of times to draw however many cards you want.

March 27, 2017 5:28 a.m.

Please login to comment