Question on ETB effects and activated abilities

Asked by sylvannos 6 years ago

...more specifically, let's say I have an Experiment One in play that is currently a 2/2. I play a Scavenging Ooze , which is also a 2/2.

Can I activate Scavenging Ooze 's ability to make it a 3/3 and trigger Experiment One 's evolve?

For reference, Evolve states:

"Whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control, if that creature has greater power or toughness than this creature, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature."

From Gatherer:

4/15/2013 When comparing the stats of the two creatures for evolve, you always compare power to power and toughness to toughness.

4/15/2013 Whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control, check its power and toughness against the power and toughness of the creature with evolve. If neither stat of the new creature is greater, evolve won't trigger at all.

4/15/2013 If evolve triggers, the stat comparison will happen again when the ability tries to resolve. If neither stat of the new creature is greater, the ability will do nothing. If the creature that entered the battlefield leaves the battlefield before evolve tries to resolve, use its last known power and toughness to compare the stats.

4/15/2013 If a creature enters the battlefield with +1/+1 counters on it, consider those counters when determining if evolve will trigger. For example, a 1/1 creature that enters the battlefield with two +1/+1 counters on it will cause the evolve ability of a 2/2 creature to trigger.

4/15/2013 If multiple creatures enter the battlefield at the same time, evolve may trigger multiple times, although the stat comparison will take place each time one of those abilities tries to resolve. For example, if you control a 2/2 creature with evolve and two 3/3 creatures enter the battlefield, evolve will trigger twice. The first ability will resolve and put a +1/+1 counter on the creature with evolve. When the second ability tries to resolve, neither the power nor the toughness of the new creature is greater than that of the creature with evolve, so that ability does nothing.

4/15/2013 When comparing the stats as the evolve ability resolves, it's possible that the stat that's greater changes from power to toughness or vice versa. If this happens, the ability will still resolve and you'll put a +1/+1 counter on the creature with evolve. For example, if you control a 2/2 creature with evolve and a 1/3 creature enters the battlefield under your control, it toughness is greater so evolve will trigger. In response, the 1/3 creature gets +2/-2. When the evolve trigger tries to resolve, its power is greater. You'll put a +1/+1 counter on the creature with evolve.

I ask this because I'm confused on priority regarding entering the battlefield. I'm assuming a change in priority never happens unless a card states "When this permanent enters the battlefield, do X."

My guess is the answer to my question is "no."

If yes, then I also have to ask:

Can I make something an artifact when it enters the battlefield and have Arcbound Crusher get a a +1/+1 counter?

Or how about Archon of Redemption if I give a creature flying with something like fllashing in Flight off of Leyline of Anticipation ?

What rulings specifically allow for these things?

Thanks for help in advance!

AllAroundGeek says... #1

You are correct, by the time you activate Scavenging Ooze's ability, it will already be on the battlefield, and therefor won't trigger evolve.

February 10, 2015 8:10 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

If an ability triggers when a permanent with certain characteristics enters the battlefield, then the permanent needs to have those characteristics as it enters the battlefield. The ability won't trigger if the permanent enters and then later gains relevant characteristics.

Evolve doesn't trigger if the creature that enters the battlefield doesn't have greater power or greater toughness than the source creature.

Arcbound Crusher's ability doesn't trigger for permanents that don't enter the battlefield as artifacts. Same for Archon of Redemption and flying.

It has nothing to do with priority. You don't have priority when something is resolving. Additionally, you can't affect how a permanent enters the battlefield unless you have something that creates a replacement effect for that permanent. Additionally, static abilities that change characteristics (see the abilities of Honor of the Pure, Xenograft, Mycosynth Lattice, etc.) apply as the permanents enter, so they will reflect those changes as they enter. Any permanent that enters the battlefield when Mycosynth Lattice is on the battlefield will enter as an artifact, for example.

February 10, 2015 8:26 p.m.

sylvannos says... #3

Alright, thanks guys! That answers my questions.

February 10, 2015 10:51 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

Please remember to select an answer to remove this question from the active queue.

February 10, 2015 10:53 p.m.

sylvannos says... #5

My bad, I don't use this portion of the site very often.

February 11, 2015 1:30 a.m.

This discussion has been closed