Obvious Spellskite question?
Asked by cryptichorror 13 years ago
I think I know this, but we got confused last night and our judge wasn't in house yet. Do enchantments "target" what they are enchanting? In other words, can I steel an enchantment as it's being played using Spellskite ?
Epochalyptik says... #2
Aura enchantments are the only permanent spells with targets, and they only ever target while they are spells. When a player casts an Aura spell, he or she names a target. The enchantment will ETB attached to that target.
Therefore, you may activate Spellskite 's ability to change the target of an Aura spell.
When an Aura enters the battlefield by any means other than being cast as a spell, it does not target. For example, you cannot use Spellskite's ability to change the target of an Aura put into play with Zur the Enchanter 's ability because that Aura has no target (as it was never cast).
February 8, 2012 9:28 a.m.
hunter9000 says... #3
Yes, an Aura spell does target what it enchants. So if someone played an Arrest for instance, you could change it's target to Spellskite before it resolved. But that's only if Spellskite is a legal target for the Enchantment, otherwise nothing happens. Once it resolves and becomes an Enchantment permanent, it doesn't have a target anymore, so you can't do anything with it with Spellskite.
303.4. Some enchantments have the subtype Aura. An Aura enters the battlefield attached to an object or player. What an Aura can be attached to is restricted by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, Enchant). Other effects can limit what a permanent can be enchanted by.
303.4a An Aura spell requires a target, which is restricted by its enchant ability.
303.4b If an Aura is enchanting an illegal object or player, the object it was attached to no longer exists, or the player it was attached to has left the game, the Aura is put into its owners graveyard. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)
February 8, 2012 9:32 a.m.
I thought that they target when they etb bcuz arent you able to Journey to Nowhere a Emrakul, the Aeons Torn ?
February 10, 2012 3:24 a.m.
I thought that they target when they etb bcuz arent you able to Journey to Nowhere a Emrakul, the Aeons Torn ?
February 10, 2012 3:24 a.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #7
Journey to Nowhere isn't an aura. It's a regular enchantment that has an ETB triggered ability. That's the reason you're able to use it on Emrakul, because it's not a spell that's targeting him, but a permanent. You're not allowed to play something like a Pacifism on him, because aura spells target.
Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1
When an aura is being cast as a spell, it does target. If it's being brought onto the battlefield by some other method (Sun Titan
, etc.), then it doesn't target.
114.1b Aura spells are always targeted. These are the only permanent spells with targets. An Auras target is specified by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, "Enchant"). The target(s) are chosen as the spell is cast; see rule 601.2c. An Aura permanent doesnt target anything; only the spell is targeted. (An activated or triggered ability of an Aura permanent can also be targeted.)
February 8, 2012 9:28 a.m.