In EDH/Commander are you not aloud to make colored mana of colors outside of your commander colors?

Asked by RedCloud2012 11 years ago

Recently I picked up Mind Seize 2013 to add to my Grixis EDH and read the basic rules pamphlet that mentions that any other color mana added to your pool outside your Commanders color becomes colorless mana. If this is true then Chromatic Lantern to use with Havengul Lich is useless to cast off color creatures from opponents graveyard as well as nightveil specter to cast off color exiles. Please clarify.

RedCloud2012 says... #1

I don't know why ive never encountered an arguement if that isn't allowed. P.S I spelled allowed wrong above..embarassing.

November 27, 2013 1:59 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... #2

That is correct. If mana of a color not in your commander's color identity would be added to your mana pool an equal amount of colorless is added instead. I will look up the rules and post in a few minuts

November 27, 2013 1:59 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #3

Commander Rules state:

4 A deck may not generate mana outside its colours. If an effect would generate mana of an illegal colour, it generates colourless mana instead.

November 27, 2013 2:01 p.m.

RedCloud2012 says... #4

My gosh that sucks, why did they do that? That ruins my deck strategy. I thought they players made this format up. Seems kinda hateful towards reanimator styles and graveyard spell casting from opponents stuff.

November 27, 2013 2:06 p.m.

RedCloud2012 says... #5

I hate auto correct. It always changes your to you and that to they. Its fricken retarded.

November 27, 2013 2:09 p.m.

nobu_the_bard says... #6

There are ways around in some cases. Mycosynth Lattice , for example. Daxos of Meletis appears to have had his ability worded specifically to allow it to work in Commander, particularly.

November 27, 2013 2:10 p.m.

RedCloud2012 says... #7

Yes but you cant use daxos if your Grixis. Lattice is replacing chromatic lantern however. Thank you

November 27, 2013 2:16 p.m.

Devonin says... #8

Very few things in the game allow you to cast cards belonging to other players while also requiring you to pay the proper mana cost. The fact that this general rule has a crappy singular application doesn't mean it is mean to players or hateful to any archetypes. Most reanimator style decks are either animating their own stuff, or actually using reanimate effects on other people's stuff which doesn't require them to then cast the creature.

November 27, 2013 2:21 p.m.

RedCloud2012 says... #9

It isnt singular ive got six unusable cards for their original purpose. My whole deck is control/Mill/Steal/Jalava. I will fix it though. Thanks for your answers.

November 27, 2013 2:29 p.m.

nobu_the_bard says... #10

If it helps, the only others I know of that would work in Grixis would be North Star or Psychic Intrusion .

The Oracle wording for North Star causes any mana you have to work like the Lattice for a specific spell you name, and you can reuse it, if you can pay the 4 colorless to activate every time.

November 27, 2013 2:38 p.m.

Siyanor says... #11

As for players making up the format... EDH is a format made by players. Commander is an official format that WotC co-opted from EDH.

November 27, 2013 3:31 p.m.

nbarry223 says... #12

Well, if you want to be able to do stuff like that, you can run a 5 color general and not have to cast it. I mean I have a mono-white deck that runs a 5 color'd general so I can run some spells I wouldn't be able to otherwise.

November 27, 2013 3:33 p.m.

Nezon7up says... #13

just use ""Mycosynth Lattice"" to get around that

February 5, 2014 1:03 p.m.

wjohnson936 says... #14

This is a late post, but Geth, Lord of the Vault would also work.

June 22, 2015 12:34 p.m.

This discussion has been closed