Does Kruphix God of Horizons gives unlimited colorless mana?

Asked by Brainiac0 6 years ago

Hi, i've been a little confused on this matter involving the effect the ability takes on spells with mana cost x. Say you have a Mistcutter Hydra in hand and a Kruphix, God of Horizons in play.So you pay one G then that becomes colorless (Kruphix ablity).Then i have 2 assumptions of how that works: 1)Either you just play a 0/0 Mistcutter Hydra bc you cant pay the colorless that was produced by Kruphix, God of Horizons thus you dont pay its x cost OR 2)You can pay the colorless which in turn produces another colorless and so on... giving you infinite mana. What is correct?

Rundas says... #1

Well, Kruphix, God of Horizons states that "Unused mana" turns into colorless mana. So mana tapped in a specific phase still remains the same type of mana the card could produce. So tapping a Forest in main phase one, produces 1 green mana which stays green in MP1.When you go to the "combat phase" on the same turn and you didn't use your green mana, it becomes colorless, since your unused mana from MP1 normally disappears from your pool.

So in the case of your Mistcutter Hydra, you can tap all your mana in your opponents' turn and use that mana during your own turn as colorless mana for a big Hydra, even over multiple turns.You just need at least 1 green mana, which hasn't been turn colorless yet.

January 4, 2015 6:53 a.m.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #2

You have a basic misconception about how Kruphix, God of Horizons works. The ability reads:

If unused mana would empty from your mana pool, that mana becomes colorless instead.

If you use the mana to cast a spell or activate an ability it isn't unused. What kruphix does is allow you to keep mana around that would otherwise be wasted. SAy Nykthos produces 6 mana and you can only spend 5. Instead of emptying at the end of phases and turns it becomes colorless and you can use it whenever you need it.

January 4, 2015 6:57 a.m.

Brainiac0 says... #3

Ooooohhhh i see.But still,after the tapped Forest produced 1 green mana if you spent this mana to cast Mistcutter Hydra since it empties from your mana pool it becomes colorless so can you then use this colorless mana to pay the x cost or does hydra comes in as 0/0?

January 4, 2015 7:02 a.m.

Brainiac0 says... #4

Oh ok i get it now.I didnt pay attention to the unused part.Thx for the help!

January 4, 2015 7:04 a.m.

filledelanuit says... #5

Make sure you select an answer to remove it from the unanswered queue.

January 4, 2015 8:19 a.m.

DoomOnYOU says... #6

Jeez I pulled a Kruphix just the other day and I didn't understand why he was so good until just now. Thank you, now I can build a deck with Cathodion and Everflowing Chalice with Hydras and Prophet of Kruphix.

August 5, 2015 10:05 p.m.

This discussion has been closed