Does Dress Down affect creatures being copied?

Asked by CamraMaan 3 years ago

The scenario is that my opponent just cast Cackling Counterpart to make a copy of his Arcanis the Omnipotent, to which I respond by casting Dress Down... does Cackling Counterpart still copy all of Arcanis the Omnipotent, it just will be a vanilla 3/4 creature until end of turn? Or will it be prevented from copying Arcanis' card text because of Dress Down, and remain a vanilla 3/4 creature after the turn ends...?

Thanks in advance! :)

Rhadamanthus says... #1

The token will be a full copy of Arcanis and will regain all of its abilities when Dress Down leaves the battlefield. A copy effect copies everything written on the original, and doesn't take into account any other effect that's currently changing the characteristics of the original (unless those changes were created by another copy effect).

However, your opponent now has two Legendary permanents with the same name. Unless there's something else special going on (i.e. Mirror Gallery), they will have to get rid of one of them after Cackling Counterpart resolves.

November 22, 2021 2:05 p.m.

CamraMaan says... #2

Hopefully I can still get a response on this, since it's been a month, but what if Dress Down resolves before Cackling Counterpart? Will that affect how, say, Metallic Mimic gets copied by Cackling Counterpart...? It seems like losing all abilities before a creature gets copied would entail the copy having none of those abilities...? But I can see how this might not change anything either.

Similarly, say Dress Down is cast in response to Aeve, Progenitor Ooze being cast, after a storm brew? My assumption is that the storm trigger will still happen (on cast), creating a bunch of copies of Aeve on the stack, but they will 1) enter with no extra +1/+1 counters, and more importantly, 2) they will all copy the Legendary type, and therefore all but one will have to go...?

Thanks for any help! :)

January 18, 2022 6:57 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #3

My original response wasn't as clear as it could have been: The token copy will have no abilities when it enters the battlefield because Dress Down is also on the battlefield, but the token will get its abilities back after Dress Down leaves the battlefield because all of those abilities from the original were copied. Here's the description of "copiable values" from the Comprehensive Rules:

707.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The copiable values are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name, mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by “as . . . enters the battlefield” and “as . . . is turned face up” abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set additional characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied.

So the token copy is created with all the abilities of the original, Dress Down will take those abilities away when the token enters the battlefield, and the abilities come back when Dress Down goes away.

In your question about Aeve, Progenitor Ooze:

  • They do enter with +1/+1 counters. Dress Down can't affect them before they actually enter the battlefield
  • They don't have the "[this] isn't legendary..." ability, so they will be subject to the legend rule. Since the storm copies resolve one at a time and the legend rule has to be dealt with immediately, this will limit the number of counters the last one is able to enter the battlefield with
January 18, 2022 10:11 p.m.

CamraMaan says... #4

Much appreciated!

January 19, 2022 3:43 a.m.

Please login to comment