"Can't be Countered"
Asked by BringerOfStorms 9 years ago
Hello All,
In my green white deck Beasts of the Winding Woods I have one card I do not understand the rules on.
Terra Stomper says it "can't be countered''. I'm sure it is as simple as it sounds, but I don't get it.
A bit of help would be great!
Thank you,~BoS
Rhadamanthus says... #2
There are some effects in the game that can counter spells as they're first being cast. Cancel, Mana Leak, Absorb, and many others, almost all of them either Blue or multiple colors including Blue. Countering a spell means that instead of the spell resolving and having its effect, it's put directly into the graveyard and does nothing.
Effects that say they "counter" spells won't work on Terra Stomper when you're first casting it. Other effects that can get rid of Terra Stomper without specifically saying they "counter" it (Doom Blade, Path to Exile, etc.) will still work.
December 14, 2015 4:21 p.m.
BringerOfStorms says... #3
That makes sense JWiley129 and Rhadamanthus.
As I have actually only played against blue once in my short Magic career (believe it or not) it would make sense that I haven't seen that rule much.
Many thanks.
~BoS
JWiley129 says... Accepted answer #1
So "Can't be countered" means that if your opponent cast Counterspell or his friends, it would not stop Terra Stomper from entering the battlefield. "Countering" a spell means that you stop it from even happening. And Terra Stomper has something about it that makes it impossible to stop it.
You'll also find this line of text on non-creature spells like Abrupt Decay, Last Word, or on other creatures like Vexing Shusher, and they all mean the same thing. If your opponent tries to counter them with a spell like Counterspell, it won't work.
December 14, 2015 4:20 p.m.