At the beginning of the next end step and Summoning sickness
Asked by dragonchild2994 11 years ago
If i have skybind on the field and play sightless brawler, using skybind constellation effect on Hero's bane can my opponent attack me with hero's bane on their turn? or does it have summoning sickness?
Seraphicate says... Accepted answer #2
If you want a simple brief description of how summoning sickness works, here's how it is
A creature that has entered the field this turn will have summoning sickness. It cannot be declared as an attacker or use it's own tap ability. Look at >Elvish Mystic <. It cannot attack or tap for that green mana on the turn you play it.
The only exceptions to that rule would be if the creature
1) Has Haste: Rakdos Shred-Freak - it can tap and attack on the turn it is played
2) Becomes tapped as a cost: Aboshan, Cephalid Emperor - it can't attack, but you can use it's ability on the turn you play it. It doesnt have the (tap) symbol in it's cost
3) becomes tapped as a result of a spell or ability: Alaborn Cavalier - the creature it targets can be tapped, regardless of whether or not it has summoning sickness.
4) enters the field tapped: Blind Obedience - the creature enters tapped, so it cant attack anyways, unless it had haste, and you untapped it somehow, like with Kiora's Follower
Summoning sickness goes away at the beginning of your upkeep, so any creatures that have entered the field before the start of your turn will be able to tap and attack. The [end step] happens as the final step of a turn, before passing to someone else.
TL,DR: straight answer to your question, because your opponent's Heroes' Bane enters the field at the next [end step], which is at the end of your turn, it will lose summoning sickness at the start of their turn, so yes, they can attack you with it.
April 27, 2014 2:32 p.m.
@Seraphicate: Not quite on a number of things there. First, summoning sickness does not apply only the turn the creature enters; if you play an Elvish Mystic in a two-player game, it will be sick for two turns (yours and your opponent's). Further, summoning sickness wears off during the untap step, not at the beginning of the upkeep. Eon Hub would be a bit more powerful if that's how it worked.
Your final TL;DR is correct, but I thought I'd clarify a few things for those who were wanting details.
April 27, 2014 4:02 p.m.
Actually, no, it isn't even based on the untap step. A creature is not affected by summoning sickness if it has been "continuously since [the creature's controller] most recent turn began." 302.6.
April 27, 2014 4:04 p.m.
Seraphicate says... #5
Well you get the general idea of what I mean
Thanks, I stand corrected
erabel says... #1
Please link your cards. Use double brackets. [ [ Forest ] ], without spaces, becomes Forest .
Skybind , Sightless Brawler , Heroes' Bane .
Assuming you play the Brawler on your turn, the Hydra will be exiled, and it will return at your end step. On your opponent's turn, since the Hydra re-entered before his last upkeep, it will be unaffected by summoning sickness.
April 27, 2014 2:05 p.m.