is city of brass modern legal?
Modern forum
Posted on May 19, 2014, 10:12 p.m. by magicbullet
it was printed what in fifth ? so since it was reprinted does that make it legal?
magicbullet says... #4
sorry Im not that experienced in the rules to the formats. beginner here. is there any advantage of mana confluence over city of brass? i can think of some situation but not many
May 19, 2014 10:18 p.m.
miracleHat says... #6
City of Brass can have damage doubled. If you have an Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth and city out, then you still take the one damage even if tapping for black from urborg. My issue with Mana Confluence is that you can't prevent life loss.
May 19, 2014 10:21 p.m.
magicbullet says... #7
how would you prevent the damage and given the choice which would your prefer to have or run. wanting a set of either for a sliver deck
May 19, 2014 10:24 p.m.
theinfernumflame says... #8
Mana Confluence only hurts you when you tap it for mana, unlike City of Brass , which hurts you whenever it becomes tapped for any reason. It's unlikely to matter most of the time, but I think Mana Confluence is slightly better because of that.
May 19, 2014 10:24 p.m.
miracleHat says... #9
It is not modern legal, but Energy Field and Solitary Confinement . Personal Sanctuary if you are that type of person and it is modern legal.
May 19, 2014 10:28 p.m.
magicbullet says... #10
Gotcha, So if lets say i had a crypt ghast it would also deal double damage?
May 19, 2014 10:28 p.m.
magicbullet says... #11
eh it seems like preventing the damage really only waste a turn and a card. seems like id prefer the damage to be more aggressive.
May 19, 2014 10:31 p.m.
miracleHat says... #12
No. If it said, "Whenever City of Brass becomes tapped, it deals 1 damage to you for each mana you added." then mana doublers like (as you said) Crypt Ghast (though then you would have to have urbog on the field) and City of Brass would be a no go.
May 19, 2014 10:31 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #14
Rules questions should be asked in the Q&A. I was going to move this to the orphanage, but I guess I'll stick it in Modern because it's part discussion now.
TehCoopeh says... #2
Also printed in 8th, right? So, yes.
May 19, 2014 10:13 p.m.