Question about using a cards abilities while in the Command Zone for a Noble Deck
Commander (EDH) forum
Posted on July 7, 2013, 8:07 p.m. by Emmaleigh
I am working on a noble elf deck and am not clear on the rules concerning using a Command cards abilities without having it on the battlefield. If I have Yeva, Nature's Herald as my Commander (?) does that mean that all green creatures have flash, even though I do not have her on the battlefield? Similar question with Ezuri, Renegade Leader , can I use his mana abilities without him on the battlefield? Thanks!
The command zone is no different, commanders can't function while in there.
July 7, 2013 8:18 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #4
No. Unless they explicitly state otherwise, abilities on a permanent card only function while that card is on the battlefield (i.e. while that card is a permanent). Yeva, Nature's Herald 's second ability functions no more from the command zone than it does from exile or your library.
Also, something important: Ezuri, Renegade Leader does not have any mana abilities. A mana ability is an ability that adds mana to a player's mana pool, doesn't have a target, and isn't a loyalty ability. Ezuri, Renegade Leader has activated abilities that cost mana, but they are not mana abilities.
July 7, 2013 8:20 p.m.
So what is the purpose of having a Commander card? Just the reassurance that you can have that card whenever you like without hoping to draw it from a library?
July 7, 2013 8:21 p.m.
Exactly; most decks use their commander as their centerpiece, a constant resource that they can cast at any point in the game (as long as they have the mana and can cast a creature).
July 7, 2013 8:24 p.m.
Commanders act as a staple for your deck. Often a deck will be built around the commander. For example, for a deck based on Horde of Notions all creatures will be elementals, and there will be a strong focus on the graveyard; as well as a sturdy mana base
November 22, 2014 9:32 a.m.
Epochalyptik says... #10
@Espice: Check the post dates before you comment.
November 22, 2014 1:10 p.m.
Damn son, you just necro'd a 1.5 year old thread! That's incredible!
November 23, 2014 4:46 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #13
psst
you know how to make a necrothread go away?
you stop responding to it
November 23, 2014 5:14 p.m.
It's too late.
The deed is already done.
There is no going back now.
The necro-thread has come to stay.
November 23, 2014 5:19 p.m.
GlistenerAgent says... #15
He wants a high-five for necro-ing this thread.
November 23, 2014 5:20 p.m.
What about Animar, Soul of Elements. I've seen Commander gameplay of a friend who uses him and he places +1/+1 counters on him even in the commander zone. Is this an illegal move or is there an exception to him?
January 4, 2015 3:03 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #20
@edm0ose: First, don't revive dead threads. Always check the post dates before commenting.
Second, ask rules questions in the Q&A, which is linked in the header bar.
Animar, Soul of Elements doesn't have any abilities that function from the command zone. As stated in the above answers (given months ago), abilities of permanent cards function only while those cards are on the battlefield unless otherwise specified.
Animar, Soul of Elements only gets counters while on the battlefield, and it loses its counters whenever it changes zones.
January 4, 2015 3:08 p.m.
Alright thank you. I apologize for bringing this back.
Goody says... #2
No. A creature's abilities can only be used while they are on the battlefield, unless specified otherwise; for example, Reassembling Skeleton 's ability can only be activated from the graveyard, and Skarrg Goliath 's bloodrush can only be activated from your hand. Any static abilities follow the same rule, so an Elvish Archdruid only gives your elves +1/+1 if he's on the battlefield, whereas Anger only gives your creatures haste if it's in the graveyard.
July 7, 2013 8:18 p.m.