When taking control of other creatures

Asked by Riv329 2 years ago

If I have Homeward Path on the board and my opponent plays Necromancy or Animate Dead can I use Homeward Path to regain control of my creatures or does Homeward Path only work against card like Dragonlord Silumgar

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

Homeward Path gives players control of all creatures they own, regardless of how they entered the battlefield or what permanents are attached to it.

June 27, 2017 12:38 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

Yes, you can gain control of those creatures with Homeward Path.

A player "owns" all cards that started the game in their deck, command zone, and sideboard, and all tokens that were first created under their control. Effects that put a card from the graveyard/library/etc. onto the battlefield under a different player's control don't change the ownership of a card. The only way to change ownership of a card during a game is by using a small handful of weird old cards that are only allowed if you started the game with the "Ante" rules option (Tempest Efreet, Jeweled Bird, etc.), which hasn't been a part of the official Magic rules for a very long time.

June 27, 2017 12:55 p.m.

Please login to comment