when an enchantment aura is returned to the battlefield, does it return to a target?

Asked by WBG 1 year ago

For cards such as Replenish , Open the Vaults , Sun Titan , and Zur the Enchanter , if I get an enchntment aura card (such as Curse of Death's Hold ) onto the battlefield, can I attach it to a player or even target? Rules text cited would be appreciated.

FancyTuesday says... #1

When auras enter the battlefield without being cast they must attach to a valid object if able, otherwise they are moved to the graveyard. The object is "chosen" however, not targeted as when they are cast.

303.4f If an Aura is entering the battlefield under a player’s control by any means other than by resolving as an Aura spell, and the effect putting it onto the battlefield doesn’t specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player chooses what it will enchant as the Aura enters the battlefield. The player must choose a legal object or player according to the Aura’s enchant ability and any other applicable effects.

June 19, 2018 10:32 p.m.

ClockworkSwordfish says... Accepted answer #2

An aura by necessity has to attach to something when it comes into play. In all of the examples you listed, you could attach the aura to any legal target (whether that's a player, a creature, an instant card in a graveyard, whatever.) However, note that since the card wasn't cast per se, it doesn't have to have a declared target... so the aura could enchant a creature with hexproof or shroud. It never had a declared target, it just showed up and attached to something by necessity. If there are no legal targets, though, the aura stays in the graveyard.

You can see a ruling on Zur's Gatherer page: "An Aura put onto the battlefield without being cast doesn’t target anything, so it could be attached to a permanent with shroud or hexproof. However, the Aura’s enchant ability restricts what it can be attached to."

June 19, 2018 10:34 p.m.

Please login to comment