What happens when flipping over a permanent an opponent owns?

Asked by The_Epic_Dog 1 year ago

What happens if you were to gain control of any creature that was equipped with Dowsing Dagger  Flip with a card like Hijack , then deal combat damage to your opponent with the equipped creature? Do you permanently control the flipped over Dowsing Dagger  Flip, now a Lost Vale ? Or does your opponent regain control of both cards at the end of your turn?

Tyrant-Thanatos says... Accepted answer #1

If you take control of a creature that is equipped with Dowsing Dagger, you do not gain control of the dagger at all, it is still under the control of its owner. It's still equipped to the creature you took, unless your opponent has something they can do to change that. Should the dagger transform, it does not change control, but seeing as it was still under your opponents control, Lost Vale  Flip will be your opponents. Immediately, not at the end of the turn.

November 28, 2017 7:18 p.m.

Neotrup says... #2

If you were to gain control of their Conqueror's Galleon  Flip with Hijack on the other hand, and attacked with it, you would exile it, then return it transformed under your own control, so you would never give it back as it's no longer considered the same object as the one you Hijacked.

November 29, 2017 1:26 a.m.

Please login to comment