Tyrant-Thanatos Overlord

I'm broke and I play Magic moderately well.

My Favorites Show

Please login to comment

Said on If a creature ......

#1

It's worth noting that Trample will allow this. If a 2/2 Double Strike Trample is blocked by a 1/1, it will deal 1 damage to the blocking creature and 1 damage to the defending player during the first strike damage step, and then be able to assign its full 2 damage to the defending player during the normal damage step.

February 21, 2018 3:40 p.m.

Ebon Drake is particularly cruel for this sort of thing in my experience. If they don't have a sac outlet, it can spell a pretty quick death in 4+ player games.

February 20, 2018 7:39 p.m.

Said on Phyrexian Metamorph...

#3

For comparison, Masterwork of Ingenuity would gain flash from Sigarda's Aid because it actually has the equipment subtype before it enters the battlefield. Not even because it copies an equipment. If Masterwork had been printed without the Equipment subtype on the card, and was just listed as a generic Artifact, then it wouldn't get flash from Sigarda's Aid.

February 19, 2018 6:05 p.m.

The only exception to what pskinn01 said is keywords with the word "target" in their reminder text, which may not always be printed on the card. Technically the ability does in that case "say" target, but it's not printed on the card, and this can be noteworthy. Enchant, Equip, and Provoke are the only ones I can think of off hand, but they do exist.

February 19, 2018 4:18 p.m.

Said on Phyrexian Metamorph...

#5

Nope. Metamorph isn't an equipment until it enters the battlefield. Sigarda's Aid would not give it flash, as it is not an equipment spell.

It's important to note the difference between an Equipment, an Equipment Card, and an Equipment Spell. An "Equipment" is a subtype of permanent. A card is only ever an "Equipment" while it is on the battlefield. An "Equipment Card" is a card with "Equipment" printed in the subtype box, and is always an Equipment Card regardless of location. An "Equipment Spell" is a spell on the stack with the Equipment subtype.

Sigarda's Aid states that you may cast "Equipment Spells" as though they had flash. In the case of playing a Phyrexian Metamorph to copy an equipment, it is not an Equipment Card in your hand before you cast it, it is not an Equipment Spell while it is on the stack, but it is an Equipment on the battlefield.

February 19, 2018 4:14 p.m.

Azdranax Honestly I agree with you on much of that though. They are good useful cards in tuned Legacy and some Modern competitive decks. But they are a prime example of an issue I see all too commonly in mtg: competitive success skews how even casual players see cards. People hear about how many of the high end competitve decks run something, in this case fetchlands, and then proceed to buy mass quantities of them and shove them in every single deck they physically can, whether it belongs there or not. That is, so far as I'm concerned, definitively overrated.

I've managed to outright use a single Lava Axe as a wincon in a control deck because people are so prone to chew through so much of their life by fetching untapped shock lands. "The only point of life that matters is the last one" mentality has leagues of fools throwing away their entire life pools because they perceive multiple points of life as being worth less than one mana.

Fetchlands are completely valid, and in fact very strong in the right deck.

February 16, 2018 10:07 p.m.

Rhadamanthus: Battlefield Forge, Clifftop Retreat, Inspiring Vantage, Rugged Prairie There's plenty of dual lands I'd take over Arid Mesa in RW 7 days of the week, and most of them don't cost $30+.

And this doesn't change how often I see it slotted into mono-red.

February 16, 2018 5:17 p.m.

Okay so let me get this stack here straight:

You cast Disciple of Bolas and it resolves.

Inalla and Disciple both trigger. The stack looks like so:

Inalla Trigger

Disciple Trigger

Inalla trigger resolves, creates a copy of Disciple, which also triggers. Stack looks like so:

Disciple Token Trigger

Disciple Trigger

And you have two Disciples on the battlefield, one of which being a token with haste which will be exiled at the end step.

When the token's trigger resolves you have to sacrifice the non-token Disciple, assuming you have no other creatures. You gain your life and draw your cards.

Then when the non-token Disciple's trigger resolves, you have to sacrifice the token to it.

So not only can you do this, assuming I understand your question correctly, but if you have no other creatures to sacrifice and paid the for Inalla, you actually have to do this. Disciple of Bolas' triggered ability does not say "you may" so you have to sacrifice another creature if you can.

Edit: Small correction, you don't have to do this no matter what, if you order the stack so the non-token disciple resolves before Inalla, you'll have nothing to sac, but then you'll have to sac the original to the token when it comes in.

February 16, 2018 2:16 p.m.

Azdranax Your argument seems to hinge almost entirely on decks that run more than 2 colors. Arid Mesa is in no way better at color fixing than Plateau or Sacred Foundry in a strictly RW deck. And yet... people run them anyways. And they claim, for the thinning. Overrated is exactly what they are. Useful in a lot of decks? Yes. But I've literally watched people run then in fucking mono-color decks for the thinning effect. What else can I call that but overrated?

February 16, 2018 2:04 p.m.

I feel like people too often brush off the life cost as being insignificant. 1 life isn't a large price to pay, but it doesn't need to be. The potential advantage you gain from using fetchlands to thin your deck is even less significant.

They can be useful for color fixing, they can be useful in decks that synergize with them, be it something like Death's Shadow which prefers to be at lower life, or decks that play with their grave a lot and can make repeated use of a single fetchland. But the rampant fad of putting them in every single multicolor deck anybody ever runs is nonsense.

February 15, 2018 8:35 p.m.

shadow63 not when you're lopping off 10 bloody life for a smidge chance of not pulling another land they don't.

Anyway, I agree, Fetches are decent cards and have their uses, but for some reason they've become massively overrated. A term I don't often like to use, but for once I feel is appropriate.

The only deck I personally run Fetchlands in is a Dredge/Life from the Loam deck that can repeatedly exploit one fetchland to churn out land after land. Even there I only run 2 of them.

February 15, 2018 3:08 p.m.

Said on How do all ......

#12

Yeah, it's okay. Basically you've got it, because the entire spell, be it a Wrath of God, or a Deadly Tempest, or a Life's Finale, the entire spell has to resolve completely and be removed from the stack before any triggered abilities can be put onto the stack off of the events it caused.

When say Requiem Angel triggers, the ability that it puts onto the stack simply reads "create a 1/1 white Spirit creature token with flying". It doesn't care what's happened to the angel that the ability came from. However, when Elenda's first ability triggers and goes onto the stack, it reads "put a +1/+1 counter on Elenda, the Dusk Rose". By this time, Elenda is already dead, and you can't put counters on dead creatures.

February 13, 2018 7:53 p.m.

Said on How do all ......

#13

The answer you got from "elsewhere" is close.

Elenda's first triggered ability will trigger, but as Elenda is no longer on the battlefield, it will be unable to put counters on her.

All of the other abilities will trigger for each applicable death, and you are free to stack all of these triggered abilities as you choose, all of them happening after the boardwipe resolves completely.

February 13, 2018 6:44 p.m.

Wasn't my pull, but back in my highschool mtg heydays, my best buddy pulled two Wrath of Gods out of one Tenth Edition pack.

I myself don't really have any pack stories. I just don't buy packs except for Drafts, which even then I rarely do. I did first-pick a Vorapede once though, and have loved the card ever since, even if it is a junk mythic. lol

February 13, 2018 2:10 p.m.

Said on Can you copy ......

#15

The "use this ability only once each turn" clause Oracles to read as "activate this ability only once each turn". This alone tells me that the limitation here is on how many times a turn you can pay the ability's cost in order to put it onto the stack. Effects which copy that ability while it is on the stack will be unaffected by this limitation, and thus cards like Illusionist's Bracers will work just fine.

February 12, 2018 9:44 p.m.

Wait how isn't it correct? Looking at your cards before randomizing them and looking at them during or "as part of" the randomization is not the same thing at all. What's even to stop someone from just doing this before they sit down to play anyhow?

February 12, 2018 6:46 p.m.

I feel like this has been covered pretty sufficiently, but just to Reiterate:

There are 10 steps in a turn, divided into 5 phases.

The Beginning Phase, which contains: The Untap Step, the Upkeep Step, and the Draw Step.

The Pre-Combat Main Phase.

The Combat Phase, which contains: The Beginning of Combat Step, the Declare Attackers Step, the Declare Blockers Step, the Combat Damage Step, and the End of Combat Step.

The Post-Combat Main Phase.

And the Ending Phase, which contains: The End Step, and the Cleanup Step.

"At the beginning of the next end step" means exactly that, verbatim. The next time an end step occurs, the ability is put onto the stack. If it is currently an End Step when this kind of Delayed Triggered Ability is created, then it will trigger at the beginning of the following End Step. If it is created earlier in a turn, then it will trigger at the end step of the current turn, unless something happens to prevent this turn from having an end step.

February 12, 2018 3:42 p.m.

Said on Protean raider...

#18

sonnet666 I try as hard as I can to forget protection lol

February 12, 2018 3:08 p.m.

No. Once upon a time that was possible. But as of current, damage does not use the stack, and once damage is delivered, both creatures will die before you have a chance to cast or activate anything.

February 9, 2018 9:18 p.m.

Yeah, as Epochalyptik put it, the phrase "if able" on Furor of the Bitten is key. Because Bloodcrazed Goblin isn't able if your opponent hasn't taken damage, it isn't forced to attack.

February 9, 2018 8:59 p.m.

Decks

Casual/Modern Simic Budget

Modern Tyrant-Thanatos

SCORE: 2 | 1657 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Casual Grixis/Jund Budget

Casual Tyrant-Thanatos

183 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Midrange Grixis Budget

Casual Tyrant-Thanatos

402 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS

Budget Naya Zoo

Modern Tyrant-Thanatos

SCORE: 1 | 2339 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Damia EDH

Commander / EDH Tyrant-Thanatos

94 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Modern Simple U/G

Modern* Tyrant-Thanatos

SCORE: 1 | 109 VIEWS

Modern Sunforger Toolbox

Modern Tyrant-Thanatos

SCORE: 1 | 158 VIEWS

Finished Decks 442
Prototype Decks 408
Drafts 0
Playing since Eighth Edition
Points 3762
Avg. deck rating 4.50
T/O Rank 16
Helper Rank None yet
Favorite formats Commander / EDH, Modern, Casual
Good Card Suggestions 18
Cards Added/Fixed 6
Last activity 4 hours
Joined 5 years