Please login to comment
This would've been possible once upon a time, but since damage no longer goes on the stack, there's no opportunity to cast Siren's Ruse after damage has been dealt, before the Siren Stormtamer dies. You could cast it before damage is dealt, and Bomat Courier will still be considered blocked, but it will take no damage.
September 19, 2017 4:57 p.m.
September 18, 2017 8:58 p.m.
Firstly, Blossoming Defense can only target creatures you control. So it shouldn't encounter this issue.
Secondly, should you somehow find a way to do this, the effect says "target creature gains hexproof" therefor it is an ability of the creature, and will prevent opponents of the creature's controller from targeting it (IE you in a standard 1 on 1 game).
The only exception to this is cards that don't actually give the creature hexproof, and simply state that it can't be targeted by spells or abilities your opponents control, such as Shielding Plax.
September 18, 2017 5:52 p.m.
You select a target for Sheoldred, Whispering One's triggered ability when it goes on the stack, not when it resolves. So no, you would have to target something other than Sheoldred because she is not a valid target when the ability triggers.
This would work if you had a second Sheoldred in your graveyard for the one you have on the battlefield to target during this series of events.
September 16, 2017 10:04 p.m.
The ruling you quoted literally says right at the end "If you havent actually drawn any cards that turn, the rest of the ability has no effect."
Abundance replaces all of your draws. You haven't actually drawn any cards that turn.
September 15, 2017 9:58 p.m.
No, a card that designates a target or a number of targets must have legal targets for you to declare in order to cast them. Hex for instance, literally cannot be cast if there are less than six creatures on the field that it can target. Even if there are say, 8 creatures on the field, but 4 of them have Shroud and/or Protection from Black, you cannot cast Hex.
If a card with multiple targets has some of its targets become illegal before it resolves, it will resolve as much as it can, however if a card has all of its targets become illegal, it will be countered.
September 15, 2017 3:23 p.m.
September 15, 2017 2:46 p.m.
September 14, 2017 2:49 p.m.
"You don't count." FeelsBadMan
A solid read as always berryjon. I like the comparison between power and toughness, and how they influence the cost and efficiency of a creature. It's something I've always found interesting about the game, Power is, essentially, a reusable source of damage, where toughness is, by comparison, just a reusable damage prevention. And as has been discussed previously, damage prevention is... well weak.
September 14, 2017 2:47 p.m.
Yes, older cards used the subtype Legend, this has since been errata'd so they are Legendary Creatures, and if reprinted, will say so. If you look them up in the Gatherer it outright lists them as Legendary Creatures.
September 13, 2017 10:45 p.m.
You are correct Qolorful, I failed to mention that. Planeswalker type are not irrelevant, but they're no longer important in regards to controlling multiples of a given Planewalker, as the Planeswalker Uniqueness Rule is going away.
September 12, 2017 8:03 p.m.
You're correct, Planeswalker Types are irrelevant now. They are Legendary now because they're getting ride of the Planewalker Uniqueness Rule, which was the rule that said you could only have one PW of a given PW type. So now you can control Jace Beleren and Jace, the Mind Sculptor at the same time, as an example.
September 12, 2017 7:58 p.m.
The Competitiveness meter is a bit wonky and I don't trust it. I have a "deck" that's just a huge list of lands I use as a database, some 500+ land cards in one deck, and it calls it 100% competitive. Right.
Also I'm curious how the Ixalan ruling hurts superfriends. I haven't actually played the archetype before, but... what downside is there? With planeswalkers being Legendary, you can have multiple different Jaces out at the same time, etc. The only downside I can think of is if there's some reason to intentionally kill your own planeswalker by playing another of its type.
September 12, 2017 4:15 p.m.
You attacked me first buddy. All I did was point out that what you said was incorrect, you responded with "you have no clue what you're talking about"
The only thing I did that was rude was the caps post. Namecall all you want man, I just don't want misinformation being spread.
September 12, 2017 3:52 p.m.
No, Paying life doesn't cause damage, but Children of Korlis doesn't say "you gain life equal to the damage dealt to you this turn" "Damage causes loss of life" is reminder text that damage also causes loss of life, among other things.
September 12, 2017 3:44 p.m.
It's pretty much as I explained earlier, it requires any combination, hybrids only counting for one. The reason is because "red and green" is the thing you're looking for devotion for, you're not looking separately for your devotion to red and your devotion to green. Besides even that, the card condition is that it's not a creature when it's less than 7, so even interpreted as separate devotions, you would only need to match one for him to be a creature, because they would have to both be below 7 for him to not be a creature.
If that's not satisfactory, then simply the fact that the rule Gidgetimer quoted says so, it is so.
September 12, 2017 3:25 p.m.
LOL IT'S IN THE RULES
118.4. If a cost or effect allows a player to pay an amount of life greater than 0, the player may do so only if his or her life total is greater than or equal to the amount of the payment. If a player pays life, the payment is subtracted from his or her life total; in other words, the player loses that much life.
September 12, 2017 2:55 p.m.
"Children of korlis does not work. You pay life so no life is being lost its being paid" What? That's not accurate in the slightest. Literally any downward modification of your life total is "life loss". Magister Sphinx targeting a player with 18 life causes them to lose 8 life. Lightning Bolt to the face does 3 damage, causing the player to lose 3 life. Toxic Deluge for 4 costs the caster 4 life, causing them to lose 4 life. Same applies to life gain.
September 12, 2017 2:43 p.m.
Basically the card is formatted to say "As long as your devotion to [Thing] is less than seven" where [Thing] is "red and green".
If they wanted it to require that both your devotion to red, and your devotion to green separately, it would be worded "as long as your devotion to red or your devotion to green is less than seven"
September 12, 2017 2:55 a.m.
SCORE: 2 | 1348 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER
160 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER
367 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS
2312 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER
Commander / EDH
73 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER
SCORE: 1 | 86 VIEWS
SCORE: 1 | 141 VIEWS
|Playing since||Eighth Edition|
|Avg. deck rating||4.50|
|Helper Rank||None yet|
|Favorite formats||Commander / EDH, Modern, Casual|
|Good Card Suggestions||15|
|Last activity||23 hours|