Spell queller

Asked by PerfectDisguise 1 week ago

Can I cast a Spell Queller then Cloudshift it in response to permanently exile a spell. Similar to the way Fiend Hunter and Cloudshift work?

acbooster says... Accepted answer #1

Yes. Gatherer rulings tend to answer most questions, and this one is one of those. This is from Spell Queller's page:

7/13/2016 If Spell Queller leaves the battlefield before its enters-the-battlefield triggered ability resolves, its leaves-the-battlefield triggered ability triggers, resolves, and does nothing. Then its first triggered ability resolves and exiles the spell forever.

December 2, 2017 1:02 p.m.

Lame_Duck says... #2

It's worth noting, however, that Spell Queller's ETB is not a may-ability, so, when Cloudshift returns it to the battlefield, if there are no other targets, you'll be forced to exile the target spell with the 2nd ETB (the one that's still linked to the Queller in play) and the 1st ETB trigger (the one that would exile forever) will fizzle.

December 2, 2017 1:24 p.m.

Lame_Duck so your saying I couldnt queller a tarmogofy then cloudshift it to permanently exile it since goyf is the only target?

December 2, 2017 2:07 p.m.

Lame_Duck says... #4

Yes, that's what I'm saying. It would work with something that returns the Queller to hand like Unsummon or that returns it at end of turn like Otherworldly Journey.

December 2, 2017 2:13 p.m.

Please login to comment