Lame_Duck The Penniless Planeswalker
Please login to comment
117.9d If an alternative cost is being paid to cast a spell, any additional costs, cost increases, and cost reductions that affect that spell are applied to that alternative cost. (See rule 601.2f.)
December 11, 2017 12:05 p.m.
Yes, both dash and evoke are alternate costs, so you're still casting the creatures and the cost reduction of Heartless Summoning will apply.
December 11, 2017 10:09 a.m.
No, I think the vast majority of the time the ability to kill an opposing creature every turn with the Longbow will be what wins you the game and getting a +1/+1 counter will be inconsequential and in matchups that the Longbow synergy isn't good, the Eternal Thirst will be just as bad.
December 10, 2017 4:16 p.m.
As far as things to remove goes, I'd suggest Eternal Thirst; it's the sort of card that only does anything when your deck is already performing well and makes the deck more vulnerable to removal.
December 9, 2017 5:33 p.m.
I honestly can't tell if this is supposed to be serious or an incredibly straight-faced satire of overly value-focused players. Assuming this is serious:
"Why am I expected to purchase this product?"
You are not. This is not a product intended for you because your priorities are completely out of line with the core purpose of an Un-set. This is for players that want to pay money for a weird, ridiculous drafting experience. Not every product exists to serve every kind of player and this one just isn't for you.
December 8, 2017 1:35 p.m.
Bloodline Keeper Flip isn't here to be a lord, it's here because it takes over the game with tokens; the transformation ability is just a nice bonus. Kheru Mind-Eater is definitely legal and I think it's pretty good; there's a lot of removal in the deck to keep the number of opposing blockers low enough for it to get through consistently. Reanimator is, unfortunately, a pretty big part of the format, so the Relics are kind of necessary.
I think you're right about the Captivating Vampire; I added it for the creature stealing ability but if I've already got 5 Vampires out, it's almost always just going to be win-more.
I didn't include Gatekeeper because seemed like a bad idea in a 3-colour deck but it recently occurred to me that I've only got 2 lands in the deck that don't produce , so it's actually probably fine. I'll try to make space to give it and Asylum Visitor a test.
December 8, 2017 11:56 a.m.
The question is, what would you suggest removing?
December 7, 2017 7:15 p.m.
Yeah, I did consider Stromkirk Captain and while it is very good with the deathtouchers, the deathtouchers are already very good and the Captain is pretty underwhelming without them.
December 6, 2017 8:44 p.m.
Yes, it's supposed to be a fairly controlling midrange deck; I basically just wanted an opportunity to play with some of the fun value-generating Vampires.
December 6, 2017 6:31 p.m.
I think, generally speaking, that if one of the cards in an interaction uses a keyword (like rebound) that's the page that's more likely to have the rulings you're looking for. Although, the best thing to do is just check both pages.
December 5, 2017 2:25 p.m.
You should check the Gatherer page for a card before asking a question here, as the rulings there already answer some of the most common confusions:
If a spell that exiles itself as part of its own resolution, such as Volcanic Vision, gains rebound, the ability that lets you cast the spell again wont be created. The spell will simply be exiled.
December 5, 2017 12:06 p.m.
December 5, 2017 11:05 a.m.
OK, on further investigation, Rhadamanthus is totally right and I was wrong. The Comprehensive Rule is:
607.2a If an object has an activated or triggered ability printed on it that instructs a player to exile one or more cards and an ability printed on it that refers either to the exiled cards or to cards exiled with [this object], these abilities are linked. The second ability refers only to cards in the exile zone that were put there as a result of an instruction to exile them in the first ability.
December 4, 2017 12:47 p.m.
Edit: In fact, Slither Blade is even marginally better than that.
December 4, 2017 8:12 a.m.
Yes, the Kheru Mind-Eater's "play exiled cards" ability isn't tied to the combat damage ability, so you can play any cards exiled by it regardless of how those cards were exiled (and the same is true for the unholy abomination you're creating with Grusilda).
December 4, 2017 4:29 a.m.
Well, then I guess I just have no idea what I'm talking about.
December 3, 2017 6:28 p.m.
I don't think there's any way to have it automatically reformat the list to one or the other but it'll accept either pattern, so if you want to change it, you'll have to manually reorganise the list. However, be forewarned that, as far as I know, there's no way for the first method to have a card in multiple categories.
December 3, 2017 6:11 a.m.
December 2, 2017 2:13 p.m.
It's worth noting, however, that Spell Queller's ETB is not a may-ability, so, when Cloudshift returns it to the battlefield, if there are no other targets, you'll be forced to exile the target spell with the 2nd ETB (the one that's still linked to the Queller in play) and the 1st ETB trigger (the one that would exile forever) will fizzle.
December 2, 2017 1:24 p.m.
SCORE: 67 | 73 COMMENTS | 8229 VIEWS | IN 33 FOLDERS
SCORE: 38 | 47 COMMENTS | 9998 VIEWS | IN 32 FOLDERS
SCORE: 3 | 407 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS
SCORE: 12 | 13 COMMENTS | 1228 VIEWS | IN 4 FOLDERS
SCORE: 5 | 541 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER
SCORE: 15 | 10 COMMENTS | 2402 VIEWS | IN 10 FOLDERS
|Avg. deck rating||11.09|
|Favorite formats||Heirloom, Casual|
|Good Card Suggestions||134|
|Last activity||19 hours|