shroud v angelic renewal

Asked by oliveoilonyaasscureshemorrhoid 2 months ago

My opponent has a creature and Angelic Renewal on the battlefield. I cast Mage's Guile on his creature to give it shroud. Can he still activate Renewal in response to my removal spell? If not, is there a way around Renewal at all? thanks in advance <3

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

Well, first off, your removal spell appears to be targeted, so you can't use it on a creature you've given shroud. Secondly, if a creature with shroud dies, Angelic Renewal still triggers (it's not activated) and can return that card to the battlefield. Importantly Angelic Renewal doesn't target. It does require sacrificing on resolution, so if you destroy it in response to it's trigger, it won't be on the battlefield, so it can't be sacrificed. If you exile the creature from the graveyard in response to it's trigger, with something like Cremate, it won't be able to be returned, but your opponent can still choose not to sacrifice Angelic Renewal, so they could still use it on the next creature that dies.

May 16, 2017 10:50 p.m.

Please login to comment