Playing a Butcher's Glee on Sprinting Warbrute

Asked by Argy 4 years ago

If you block say a Butcher of the Horde with a Sprinting Warbrute and then play a Butcher's Glee on the Warbrute to make it regenerate, does it return to your hand at the end of your turn?

I think that it does because the card says that it does.

Thanks for any help.

DJSeras says... #1

614.8. Regeneration is a destruction-replacement effect. The word instead doesnt appear on the card but is implicit in the definition of regeneration. Regenerate [permanent] means The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If its an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat. Abilities that trigger from damage being dealt still trigger even if the permanent regenerates.

Neither Regeneration itself, nor the card Butcher's Glee modify or replace the dash ability of Sprinting Warbrute in any way so the creature would still return to your hand at the beginning of the next end step.

May 1, 2015 2:23 a.m.

Slycne says... #2

If you're blocking with Sprinting Warbrute the assumption is that you've played it last turn - so it still has summoning sickness and wasn't forced to attack - or have somehow given it vigilance, but either way you've cast it instead of dashing it - as dashing would have returned it to your hand at the end of your turn.

Butcher's Glee doesn't change whether or not Sprinting Warbrute is returning to your hand in any way. If you dashed it that turn it returns to your hand. If you cast it, it stays on the battlefield.

Note that Sprinting Warbrute can't block Butcher of the Horde since it has flying.

May 1, 2015 2:24 a.m.

HorridBEAST says... Accepted answer #3

Sprinting Warbrute only returns to the hand if you play it (from your hand) and pay its dash cost instead of its normal cost, then it comes back to your hand on the end step of the turn you played it. Unless you have a way to give a creature flash (Such as Savage Summoning), the only way that Warbrute is on the field during your opponents turn is if you cast him for his regular cost, and it will not come back to your end on any endstep, unless another card says to (such as Force Away).

Regeneration just replaces the step in destruction where the card goes to the graveyard. Instead of sending it to the grave, remove it from combat (if it was in combat), remove all damage on it, and tap it (if it wasn't already tapped). None of these steps re-cast the Warbrute or pay its Dash cost, so dash is a non-issue.

If, on the other hand, you Dash out the Sprinting Warbrute and your opponent blocks it with Butcher of the Horde and you cast Butcher's Glee then both will be destroyed, the Warbrute will be regenerated instead of going to the graveyard, and on the end step you will return it to your hand

May 1, 2015 2:02 p.m.

This discussion has been closed